5-Minute Freewrite Prompt: Cancer

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

When I saw that the prompt for today is cancer, I actually got some chills and shivers in my heart. It is one of the modern days murderers beside suicide and depression. I am not like fearful of it till I am paralyzed but I do dislike how it has affected lives and people around me.

Cancer is actually the abnormal division of body cells which may result in a malignant tumour or growth and spreading to other normal cells. It causes deterioration of the body. Whenever someone near me inform me of a growth, though I pray hard that it should only be benign, my mind still would wander off to hoping it not be a cancerous tumour. That including my own mom who had a growth in her neck. I remember when I was working as an intern in a biotechnology lab, one of the most prominent researches is of course testing on cancerous cells to find an anti-cancer solution, whether through plants or other means.

The first person I thought of as a cancer patient is my uncle who is my mom's eldest brother, one whom I always pray for besides for my own dad and mom. He has been a very diligent man, a cab driver his whole life and he had been a huge encouragement to my family despite his own health condition. When my dad realized his eyes had deteriorated to an extent when he could not drive, he was very discouraged but my uncle who was diagnosed with cancer talked with my dad and shared a heart-to-heart talk. My uncle had just lost his eldest son the year before when he realized he had cancer, due to a mysterious cause of death. He could have chosen to be devastated and go into utmost dismay but he did not. He chose to fight back and he did chemotherapy. Then he kept a healthy diet and really, the cancer did not strike back. He is now cancer-free. I am very much inspired by him because he didn't let cancer nor the death of my cousin hold him down. Perhaps he knew that cancer is not the end for him.

I too have encountered some cancer champions besides hearing stories of people losing their battles. I celebrate with those who championed over it and I mourn with those who have lost it too. I have no answer to why cancer can be so prevalent in our age but I know there is still hope in this battle, especially when the name of Jesus is higher than its name.

I do know this can be controversial. If you have someone in this battle, I would like to pray for you, whether you are sharing the same belief as me or not. I declare the authority of Jesus who is healing Himself to come into this situation and cancer to evacuate, never to come back. At the same time, I pray for peace, hope and grace to cover you and your someone. It is not the way intended for you or your someone to live. I declare new beginnings for you and your someone and cancer is not the end.

image
Image Source


Freewrite is a prompt writing initiated by @mariannewest and @improv to write a free-flow post without correcting or editing. I checked out her post to really get what it is before I jumped on the bandwagon. Basically, there is no right or wrong, just let the mind and fingers do their work, to find our creative self and let it come out of us.


RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png


Steemit Bloggers

Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

created by @zord189


Asapers.gif

20180516_002249_0001.png

sgg_footers9.png


Sort:  

I just tried freewrite yesterday too. Reallg intense. Hahhaa.. nice writeup Connie.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha welcome to trying freewrite, @bboyady. Am sure you will enjoy it in no time!

Ya, enjoying it for sure

Posted using Partiko Android

My family tree has got strong cancer genes. And I've had my share of saying goodbyes to family members due to cancer. It's a tough fight for everyone

Yeah I'm sure it is. So sorry to hear of you losing your loved ones to it. Now let's break the genes and let Jesus alter them, @ireenchew!! Only He can do it :)

Thank you for sharing this thoughtful reflection! Life is unfair, but somewhat a serious illnes like cancer can be the start of a new way to look at life and priorities.

Here’s the most recent freewrite prompt, so you can keep on writing in this amazing community

Enjoy, and have a good day!


Visit this blog for amazing insights, contests, and initiatives about #freewrite community!

Today we remind you of this fantastic initiative:

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite


presents%20(4).png

You are definitely right, @marcoriccardi!! Thank you for delivering the latest prompt too! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by happycrazycon from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

A challenging topic to write about, but you did so well! Honest, informative and full of love and care xx

Really? Thank you very much for the support, @silverwhale! :)

You have such a kind heart @happycrazycon. So nice of you to offer up your prayers :)

Awww. Thank you so much for the kind words @sweetpea :) For some reasons, I was compelled to do that at the end of the post.

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65769.61
ETH 2674.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86