The Man Behind The Mask

in #freewrite6 years ago


I wear it to strike doubt and fear
I wear it to protect
I wear it so that you won't ask
The Man Behind The Mask


I climb, I stand, I jump and fall
I torment my battered foes
I never fail to complete the task
The Man Behind The Mask


I fight for orphans, nuns and priests
I fight for justice and the peace
I try not to in the limelight bask
The Man Behind The Mask


I am the epitome of virtue
I forsook all of Evil's ways
I have never touched as much a flask
The Man Behind The Mask


I will retire, and when I do
I will have won my every match
I can then be lain within my cask
The Man Behind The Mask

wrestler-149457_1280.png

border-grass_cropped.png

About This Post

This post was inspired by the daily five minute freewrite. Today's prompt—mask. Like to join? Click here. Image source—Pixabay

Sort:  

This can be written on Batman's grave or a poem read at his funeral. It fit in perfectly.
Do you mind submitting this to Marvel? It might inspire a new episode to the batman series.

Hey, @botefarm.

I was kind of thinking it could be used for something like that, too. It really has a wide range of application. Any hero that wears a mask, along with the wrestlers of Lucha Libre.

I'm not sure what either DC or Marvel would do with it, but that's a nice thought. I'll have to think about it. :)

Ahh a poetic victory. You rose well to the task. Nice work!

Hey, @wandrnrose7.

Thanks. This is the first poem I've attempted for the five minute freewrite, and while I'm okay with how it turned out, it's definitely easier to write in prose when time is ticking down. :)

Well done! I know what you mean. ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh the man behind the mask is rather cute. Hehe. What a good rhyme using the words appropriately.

Here is the next prompt: describe your shoes

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thanks, @iamjadeline.

I guess he's cute. I was kind of thinking he was more than a little determined to get some payback or something. :) Thank you for today's prompt. I really do appreciate getting these comments.

sir Glen....there is no way you wrote that in five minutes! lol. is there? that is so good. is the man behind the mask noname? lol

Hey, @janton.

Well, I did do a minute or two of tweaking afterward, but I did write the entire poem in the the allotted time. I changed some words around and did some other editing, but the main idea is pretty much the same.

It wasn't easy, though. I had to have more of an idea going in what I was going to do than I normally would in straight prose. And while I did pay attention to beat, I only worried about rhyming the last two lines of each verse, to make things go faster. And of course it helped that I repeated the last line of each verse.

Well, I think this poem is actually layered. The Mexican wrestler was the initial inspiration, and it took a Nacho Libre turn, but in the end, I thought it could also work with any masked man who fights against evil. So, Zorro, the Lone Ranger, all the way up to the modern day superheroes.

At any rate, it's a poem, and thus can be interpreted in many ways.

I haven't ever thought of No Name wearing a mask, but I suppose anonymity is a mask, so there's that. :)

hahaha! it's so good to have you back sir Glen, no one can break things down like you can and I still think it's amazing that you could write all that in just 5minutes with the rhyming and everything.

did you get the chance to see my Indian Cowboy post yet, I just think you'd appreciate the vintage photos.

I love this Glen; it sounds a lot like you :)

Really? In what way? I suppose I do aspire to be better than I am, but I've been looking at this for the past few hours as an ode to heroes. Those who actually get in and get their hands dirty with blood, sweat and tears. Can't say I've done a whole lot of that in my life. And, I've been trying to be as transparent about me as I know how. In other words, I've been doing my best to keep the mask off. So, do tell. I'm interested in your perspective on this. :)

I do see you as a hero in your ways of diplomacy, critical thinking skills, genuine interest in most things, and a general knowledge in the same. Also, the line about no drinking caught my eye haha

Well, I'd like to think I'm serviceable in all of those areas. :) Well, okay. Wasn't trying to write about myself here, but maybe my subconscious did it for me. :) The flask thing seemed to be about the only way to use it, but again, guilty as charged.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57034.02
ETH 3084.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41