You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freewrite Hosted by @mariannewest: Burning

in #freewrite6 years ago

Hey, @metzli.

I don't know if this is biographical or not, but it's extremely well told and compelling. I can't imagine being there and hearing this story about family members burning and then all of sudden everyone laughing. I guess you wouldn't know if it were true in the moment, or even after, unless you asked the mother how she burned herself. Very haunting, very real and very plausible for high school students.

Sort:  

It was biographical.

Thank you for taking the time to read it.

Thanks for sharing. I would imagine based on what you wrote that it's not a very pleasant memory, so not easy to bring back up. But I'm glad you did. I think it paints a pretty stark picture of many things, including how teenagers can be. Not all, but many want to cut off feelings that they find dumb or uncool. I homeschooled our boys for a part of their middle school years because of what was going on there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57500.86
ETH 2337.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36