Love At First...Yikes! (Daily Five Minute Freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago

pexels-photo-327124.jpeg

Better Coffee Than Coughing

It was like a scene out of a romantic comedy.

You know, the one where there's a coffee shop and a long line, and the young woman is getting her coffee, while the young man, who has been steadily becoming infatuated with her based on only moments of seeing glimpses of her face, the way her long hair flows, the hint of mirth and merriment in her sultry voice as she calls out her order—

—then upon receiving it, turns straight around and spills it all over and down the front of the young man because he was way too close and she was totally oblivious to him standing there.

Such is how love is born in the modern world.

Sigh.

However, if there's any way to stop a young woman in her tracks and throw instant sympathy to a total stranger, especially a young male, it's seeing the expression of sheer pain creeping across the face of her unintended (but well deserved) victim, while he tries to stifle a high pitched squeal.

It truly is magical how the compassion instincts kick in.

"Oh, I'm so, so, sorry!" Dab, dab, wipe, wipe. "Are you okay?"

"Nnnn--yyyyyesssss?"

And that, children, is how I met your mother.

The above story is fictional, an entry in today's five minute freewrite. Image source—Pexels.

Sort:  

What a meet cute. It looks like something that would definitely fit in a Hollywood rom-com.

Hey there, @cryptocopy. I know I've seen it happen once or twice—the bumping into each other and spilling coffee, not necessarily the guy getting so close and infatuated. However, I'm sure it's only a matter of time now before this scene plays out exactly as written in a romantic comedy in the not-so-distant future. As long as I don't have to write it, I'm good. :)

Haha! I totally misinterpreted that scene. I had to read it again, now that I've had more coffee. I get it now. So, it's not really a meet cute, but a different take on the traditional meet cute. I like even more now.

I find this story highly unbelievable. Who in their right mind would be checking girls if coffee is right around the girl? ;)

Apparently, it doesn't have to be believable to end up in a romantic comedy. I actually think that's the point. Suspending reality while they pass it off as such is what those shows do, right? :)

As for practical experience with the situation, I have none whatsoever. I've never waited in line for coffee in my life. :)

You were nominated as a favorite freewrite this week and featured in our Freewrite Favorites Post of the week!

Keep freewriting, you are doing amazing things!

FEATURED.png

The last line really made the whole story! Loved it!

Thank you, @scribblingramma.

It's one of those time is running out, how do I wrap this up in a semi-coherent manner type of deals. It's probably not necessary to finish them off in any definite manner, but it seems like I'm leaving a lot unfinished or underdeveloped anyway, so I might as well try for the solid ending.

So, I'm grateful to hear I did that. :)

Love it! I can see it happening easily, but maybe I'm from a clumsy family.

Hey, @ntowl. Well, cool. I'm glad there's a spark of reality to it. That usually makes the story more fun when there's something relatable there. Hopefully, this doesn't happen too much in your family. I've had hot soup poured down the front of me and that was not at all a pleasant experience. And I was the only one involved. :)

A good story. Well used 5 minutes

Well, thanks @hananali. It's what managed to come out in five minutes with the coffee prompt, well used or not.

I have seen this thing at so many places and this was the best idea yet, You used your 5 minutes very well. Will surely try giving it a go

what's a mirth? I forget what the point of this thing is but it's too short, I just started liking it and it was gone.

From Merriam-Webster's online dictionary:

MIRTH

gladness or gaiety as shown by or accompanied with laughter—His clumsy attempt at dancing caused much mirth.

Sorry it wasn't long enough. That's the problem with five minute freewrites. It's often over before it's really getting started.

I may have to give it up if I can't keep you happy and entertained, though. :)

  • The point of a freewrite is to come up with something in five minutes that involves the prompt of the day, which in this case was coffee. Write as fast as (in my case) fat stubby fingers can fly. Stop at five minutes, on penalty of death or exile, which ever hurts more.

Okay, I made that last part up.

haha! that's too funny. penalty of death or exile. exile from steemit would solve some of your problems. it was very entertaining and I'm very happy so you're safe. mirth equals gaiety.

Exile from Steemit might solve some problems, but create others, especially if I don't get to power down before my exile. I'm glad to hear, though, that all is well and right. I don't need to be underwhelming the few fans I have. :)

hhaaha! underwhelming your few fans..hehe..you're such a mirthy guy! is that a word?
people tell me that when you hit rep60 that you grow no matter what because people seek out and glom onto anyone who is at 60 or above so you couldn't NOT grow even if you wanted to slow it down, what say you about that sir?

I don't know. Haven't reached 60 yet. However, if the rep can be bought, my thought would be people would be more inclined to go after someone with higher SP, like upper minnows and dolphins, since the bulk of those still post, comment and curate.

That's just me. Most of the people I follow are in the 50-70 range, and most of them are redfish/minnows with a couple of dolphins.

50-70 range huh? kinda snobbish aren't you?

hey so what is the new rule that Asher put in place about only so many characters in a comment count? because most of mine are real short. I tried to read that post and it was too many figures for me. too detailed. I tried to read that post and it was too many figures for me. too detailed.

Yeah. Mr. Snob. That's me. :)

Except for some changes I've made within the last two or three months, most of those weren't in the 50-70 range when I started. Including you. :)

I guess that's what happens to reputation rank. They go up if you're doing much of anything at all.

I hope you typed those similar sentences twice. No copying and pasting. :)

re: new rule

As far as I know, the rule only affects the new metric he's adding, which I believe will be unique users we talk to. Not sure if he's going to include all comments, or do something like second level replies, but wherever he starts it at, that's where the 50 character count rule is supposed to kick in. It's supposed to keep us honest and not just saying, "Thank you?" or "Very nice post."

From what I can tell, 50 characters is about nine words. Which means that preceding sentence was longer than 50 characters. And so was that last one, too. That one I just did is probably too short. That one might be just right, since I finally got one with just nine words in it. :)

So, anyway, it's not suppose to do anything to total comments or total second level replies, to my knowledge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56125.76
ETH 2526.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27