Batman: Octogenarian

in #freewrite5 years ago

80 Years Ago...

Ah, Gotham—City of Darkness...

Your halcyon days are far behind you. How I would have loved to know you then, back before the darkness came and took away all that I hold dear.

Alas, that opportunity is gone, and now, as I look out my window at the gathering storm, I realize that it's time for all of that rote training in the mountain stronghold of Ra's al Ghul to be used with all the passion I can muster.

Passion for justice. For vengeance. For those who cannot defend themselves.

I have this feeling that Alfred, who has forever been by my side throughout all these years, will not only be a mentor, a friend, and a manservant, but also the perfect nanny. Sometimes when I say I don't want anything to eat, I mean I don't want anything to eat.

It's time to go to work. It's time to become the hero that Gotham needs.

End of Five Minutes

December 2012...

If not for Oswald Cobblepot, Emperor Penguin might have ended me, just like Bane almost did. Oh, how times change.

In The Not So Distant Future...

What is that? A beaver? No. An otter. Now I have seen it all. "Robin. Time to shut this all down. Now!"

costume-697960_1280.jpg

Image source—Pixabay

Batman, is 80 years old this month. He first debuted in Detective Comics #27 back in May, 1939.

This post is part of the five-minute-freewrite sponsored by @mariannewest. Seven unused prompts were used in this post, and can be found in italics. If interested in participating in the freewrite, click here.

Sort:  

Alfred was my second favorite character in the movie he was all in one caring like mother, supportive like father and a guide like guru. I loved the Batman series
Keep flourishing

Hey, @praditya.

Alfred has always been a great character. It seems like he's portrayed in a similar fashion throughout all the movies, kid shows and the comics. He's probably the only one, though, since it seems they're always trying to lighten or darken up the rest, including Batman.

One of my favorite characters ever! Too bad he was in the DC universe!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I've liked him, too. The campy live action version of him during the 60s and the Super Friends version in the 70s and 80s didn't help him. He was always meant to be edgy, always toeing the line, but yet very disciplined and intelligent.

I'm trying to think what major Marvel character compares to Batman, but I can't think of one. I mean, the Punisher kills, and doesn't really care why you're criminal or if you might reform. Daredevil maybe? Except Daredevil doesn't have the billionaire status or all the cool perks that come with it.

So, anyway. A big fan favorite for sure, in any comic universe.

Haha! howdy sir Glen! 1939..that's amazing. If the guy who invented him could see what he turned into, the empire that it built!

Looks like Bob Kane died in 1998, so he lived to see a lot of it, while Bill Finger, Kane's co-creator might have missed out quite a bit, passing in 1974. I guess neither one would see the juggernaut Batman has become, particular the Christopher Nolan version.

The main concern for a lot of the comic book writers and artists is attribution and compensation. Most characters created became the property of the companies they worked for, and often the creators were locked out of any revenue sharing, while being underpaid relative to their abilities. They would keep doing it because they loved it, but love for the craft didn't pay bills or put food on the table.

Looks like Bob Kane's net worth was around 10 million at his death, and I know his name is always published or printed in connection with Batman. Bill Finger doesn't seem to get as much notoriety, though. :)

wow that's something you have to think about if you want to be an artist or creator for one of the big companies huh? Very interesting information sir Glen!

Hey, @janton.

It was that way. I'm not sure how it is now. I think times may have changed in some ways, and not so much in others. It's an interesting profession, and when you're in demand, top of the world. Unfortunately, there doesn't seem to be much of a happy medium.

Howdy sir Glen! well if I was an artist and could do characters I'd try to get into that game. I know the artists who get their attention have it made. But I'd think writers would be in high demand too, good ones anyway?
How's it going there, are you doing alot of offline work like I am?

Holy moly did you see that post that I resteemed today about MEOS? I'd love your opinion on that!

Hey, @janton.

There are a fewer writers, like there are a few artists, who make names for themselves, but there's plenty who just grind out stories. At least they're getting paid to do it. :)

re: offline work

Not really. Some of the downtime I've had was because of the new grandson being born, and wife being home, so there were some yard chores that got done. The rest of the time I've been fighting off this malaise that comes and goes. It doesn't help when people make you think there is a community voice, but there really isn't a community voice. But a lot of people like to think there is, so they run around all gung-ho only to find out things aren't all what they thought they were.

re: MEOS

Quillfire has a flare for sure. The way things seem to work, however, is there will be plenty of fanfare, and there will be quite a few people drawn to it, and then the proof will be in the reality of how things work the first sign of trouble. Will the same things that plague STEEM show up through MEOS, or whatever it's going to be called (that's actually a pretty decent name).

I doubt that EOS will be given 1:1 to STEEM users who jump ship and open an EOS account, and at current market value, my stake is worth just over 360 EOS, a far cry from what it is in STEEM. I suppose if EOS moons, then it would be good to have even that, but it's more likely after all this build up that something will disappoint, rather than live up to heightened expectations.

We'll see. Only a few days left now to see what the actual announcement is. And to me, it sounds like something that will have compatibility on multiple chains, whatever it is, and however that might work.

Howdy sir Glen! Yes it will be very interesting to see how MEOS(presummably) works out. I know that he got quite a bit of blowback on the post so I'm going over there later to read some of it. Should be some good opposing views.

Malaise doesn't sound very healthy. What form does that take? Or what are the results of that?

re: malaise

Well, I was thinking of terms of not being so comfortable with how things are proceeding here on STEEM, especially when people who can't really know what's going on start speculating about it.

Anyway, it's probably not healthy, but I am still here, despite my wife's wishes, and at some point it would be nice for all of this to take off, despite the best efforts of some to make it their own personal ATM.

I liked the first Batman movies the most! Especially the first part of 1989.20081640.jpg

Hey, @sergeyway.

In my mind, it's been kind of hit and miss with Batman movies over the years. The first two Batman movies, directed by Tim Burton, weren't too bad, but the next two fell off from there, and really, when I compare those to the next three by Chris Nolan, the Burton movies don't really take the characters seriously.

The Batman vs. Superman movie was okay, but I've never really been a fan of the older style batman.

Batman is meant to be gritty and serious. He's a man on the edge, and it's important that he stay that way. There's been a lot of attempts over the years to lighten him up, I suppose in an attempt to make him more likable, but it kind of gets in the way of his reason for being.

Hi)
I agree with you! I think it is in many films. The first and second parts are normal, and then there is no such big soul.

Sorry for my bad english))

Great review @glenalbrethsen and you're right, Batman is a real comic book veteran!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56542.34
ETH 2391.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30