Five-miute Freewrite: "The Song of the Bird" a Poem.

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

My "five minute freewrite" for @mariannewest's post, here: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-168-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-describe-a-bird. This piece is entitled: "The Song of the Bird."

"The Song of the Bird"

A bird has a breast from which it occasionally sings.
A bird has two protrusions on which it occasionally wings.
A bird has two legs upon which it might stand,
A bird usually has claw-like appendages--instead of two hands.
A bird lives in trees, or in nests down below;
A bird here can fly or can sit on a branch;
Some birds, they walk, for their wings have been clipped;
Sometimes they jump into a birdbath, for a dip;
Sometimes they "Caw!" and wake me on up;
Sometimes I get angry and throw a glass cup;
Once, I was meditating,
And I heard a commote;
I opened my eyes, to see the cat goin loco
Jumping and clawing and growlin at somethin--
And much to my surprise, a little bird had there flown in:
And my little cat Lilly was hoping to catch her some din,
And before I could shout, she'd jumped up and about--
And grabbed the poor thing--
And any past song, that that bird might have sung,
It would never again have a chance there to sing!

Five minutes is up. Thanks!

Sort:  

You got a 36.96% upvote and resteem from @singing.beauty courtesy of @gjones15. Thank you for using the @singing.beauty UPVOTE and RESTEEM bot.

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @singing.beauty by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting bot's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the bot's SP pool at the end of EACH voting round! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

Omg that was epic. Sounds like you need a screen on the window, lol. I bet Lilly would have shared because cats love to hunt for their family.

Oh no. She was a greedy little piglet and sneaked it right under my bed, and Literally--couldn't have been more than a minute or two--when I looked under there, she had EATEN THE ENTIRE THING. It was rather grotesque, actually. But, she was a bad-ass hunter! But, to that point, when she was younger, she did used to bring me live things, like squrrils and such into my room--on to my BEd.. I guess she learned that she should just keep it to herself i guess ahah. She jumped soooooo high tho to get that bird--it was ridiculous

Oh, and upon closer inspection, it appeared that my front door was left open for some reason and that's how it flew in.

Haha, cats are funny. Sounds like she is like my best friends cat. She eats every part of them. So gross. Lol.

Yes. Bones, feathers, everything. i couldn't believe it lol. I was looking all over for the bird, like, "Lilly, where the Fk is it?!" And she was just looking up at me, purring lol.

Lol, too funny

Nice poetry from this freewrite! What a poor fate for the bird!

Thank you :) . And yes, it was kind of shocking lol. As I said above, she seriously ate the entire thing in like a minute flat lol. (it was a pretty tiny little thing tho :(

You got a 26.50% upvote from @peace-bot courtesy of @gjones15!

Help spread the peace. Want to promote your posts too? Send a minimum of .02 SBD or STEEM to @peace-bot with link in the memo for an upvote on your post. You can also delegate to the bot for daily passive earnings. If you would like to delegate to the Peace Bot you can do so by clicking on the following links:
50SP 100SP 250SP 500SP 1000SP 5000SP

Learn more!

@gjones15 thought you deserved 38.61% of our upvote for this post.

I'm here to tell you congratulations and to let everyone know there's a livestreaming service available for Steem. You can go live and start earning rewards via the Steem blockchain today at dlive.io!

You got a 8.33% upvote from @bodzila courtesy of @gjones15! Join our Discord Channel https://discord.me/SteemBulls for support & feedback

We recommended this post here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts and to be recommended, reply with STOP.

Hi Gjones15! Thank you for your poetry! I wish you much success and happiness in life!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63478.31
ETH 2604.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83