Five minute freewrite. Elusive feral cougar, untamed bush.

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Cougars

Should I write of confidant woman who are judged by society while men are able to do as they please, or cats...? 💃

I think I should stick to cats this morning. 😾🙀

This gives me a segue of sorts to talk about our recent move.

I have been wanting to post about this exciting development, but wasn't sure how to start.

As usual the free write has shown me the way.

We did it! We made our tree change.

Just before Christmas @azurejasper and I moved our family from the city to a village just outside of Sydney.

In the mountains.

Yes Australia does have some mountains.

Most of our mountains form one particularly long ridge. It runs up along the East Coast and is called The great dividing range.

Well... I am home on the range now!

What has that got to do with big cats girl?

Well let me tell you...
I am going to write about our Mountain Lions.

Seriously, I am.

Australia doesn't actually have big cats girl!

No. We don't.
Despite our reputation as a dangerous country we are a land of cute marsupials.

But...

The area where I live is also said to be home to some (or at least 1) huge feral cat.

IMG_20190108_084837.jpg

There have been many sightings. It has become something of a legend, like the yeti or yowi.

Some say it's an over sized feral domestic cat, some say a panther, or Mountain Lion, or Jaguar or perhaps it's a cougar.

There is even speculation of a marsupial cat...
I think we'll put that one in the category with drop bears, but you never know...

As birds of prey and snakes are really the only predators, that leaves an abundance of unexpecting marsupial and birds for it to feed on, so we definitely have the environment for such creatures to thrive.

Feral cats and dogs are a reality here unfortunately, so the idea of a giant cougar roaming the mountain ranges is a feasible notion.

The big cats in question are believed to have been released from a circus.

IMG_20190108_084723.jpg

We used to have many animal circuses.

I'd like to say they are a thing of the past but sadly, they are not. In Australia some local councils have banned them, but only one state has completely banned the use of wild animals in shows. They set up their tent in the neighbouring town just across the boarder.

We had many travelling circuses, I went to quite a few as a kid, I thought nothing of it. Attitudes have changed thankfully, but behaviour and business takes time to catch up, so some of these still exist and still attract a crowd, but the popular trend is towards human performances such as Cirque du Soleil.

The old circuses would train big cats and elephants and ponies and tour with them, along with the usual carnival folk. I even saw dancing bears once. There are still a few with lion's and elephants but they are relicd and although they still attract a crowd, there is growing objection to travelling elephants, big cats and primates.
...I digress...

Back to my back yard.

This morning the fog on the gully behind our property hangs low. We have one neighbour behind our place then usually as far as the eye can see we have dense national park. Yes we call it bush. I hesitate to write bush (I'm looking at you America, giggling at the back of the classroom)

BUSH!

You are going to have to get used to the term. I can't call it woods or forest, Australia has bush land. This girl has gone bush.

Some where in this wild untamed bush there are enormous predatory cats.
IMG_20190108_084709.jpg

Yes I am talking untamed bush and cougars on the loose.

The trees that are usually visible from my back door are shrouded in cloud cover this morning, there are some lovely walking tracks through this land. Stumbling upon a brown snake or being swooped by a feisty bird is more likely, but I can't help wondering if there is a giant cat stalking just outside, hidden in the bushes.

IMG_20190108_085616.jpg
All of the white area is low fog, mountain clouds concealing the trees, and perhaps big cats too.


I am looking forward to telling you more about our land and lives. We have moved to improve our health and lifestyle and to be nearer to my mother who has been helping me care for my family, as I have been sick.

I have been inspired by many of you to take charge of my health and regain my life.

Please continue to follow and support me as I begin to restore hope and health.

Photo source.
theherald.com.au/story/4578820/the-big-black-cats-that-roam-our-bush-poll-photos

PSX_20190106_201206.jpg

PS. I am aware that my cat is black and a Cougar is not. Let's call it artistic licence shall we? Thank you.

Sort:  

🙂

Believe it or not, in this city i live in, they're still some big cats that stay well hidden.

<333

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 18 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 164 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

a marsupial cat...???
All those photos are your own? The slinky dark cat silhouette - haunting!
I love this: The trees that are usually visible from my back door are shrouded in cloud cover this morning, there are some lovely walking tracks through this land. ... I can't help wondering if there is a giant cat stalking just outside, hidden in the bushes.

LOL - your choice of cougar the cat is far more intriguing than cougar the woman, in this case.
You remind me of the term "bushwhacking" - most of us outside the bush of Australia have no concept of The Bush. We probably imagine whacking at some shrubbery with a machete. Novelist Rod Usher has described long days of bushwhacking - I cannot even imagine tackling that daunting job.
Everyone should read Rod Usher but hardly anyone has even heard of him

whacking at some shrubbery with a machete.

That is pretty much how it is done, but usually when I have "bushwacked" it was when I found myself off the beaten track unintentionally as a teenager (up to no good), and have found a big stick to do the job of wacking the way through. I remember once with friends on a school camp we wacked our way for what seemed like several kilometres to the beach, only to find in the light of day that we were meters from a lovely sandy path. We were torn to shreds and in a spot of trouble from the teachers.

Ooh, that beach story would be great material for a 5-Minute freewrite!
Maybe we should ask @mariannewest to consider "bushwhacked" as (bushwacked?) as a prompt someday. :)

I write on autopilot a lot of the time. Early morning, pre dawn, precoffee , what Was it you called it...? STREAM OF CONSCIOUSNESS! (Yes I peaked back... 😂 ), it is afternoon now, I have hopeless 3pm fatigue and my brain goes out the window.
I just thought What beach Story? too.
I had to look back at my comment history for that.., ahh.., my misspent youth. That is very much the amended pg version of that co educational misadventure up the new South Wales coast line of Eastern Australia. My teenage daughter reads my steemit posts. She knows she is much more responsible than both of her parents, but we have spared our children the details that preceded our over protective "helicopter parenting " hovering tendencies.

I must get back on to discord soon, I have to register again I don't have a recollection of creating a pin for discord either TWICE!
I fear I'm missing out on the real party over there on discord.

I write with ease in comments because I don't think about whether or not something is post worthy. Much like the harsh self assessments you made, I often don't deem my ramblings post worthy, but comments are OK. And comments are very lacking on steemit at the moment, they are important. And I'm allowing myself to start a sentence with AND which I would never do in a post it's just not right. So I stop and think about that and lose my flow.

Waffling in comments is okay.

PS after finishing your story this morning the stand out character, although not the protagonist, is definitely Helga. I love Helga! I want to hear more about Helga!

The cat pics are from an article. I linked it at the bottom of the post, unsuccessfully.
https://www.theherald.com.au/story/4578820/the-big-black-cats-that-roam-our-bush-poll-photos/

Not unsuccessfully! I just failed to see. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47