You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Five minute freewrite. Elusive feral cougar, untamed bush.

in #freewrite6 years ago

a marsupial cat...???
All those photos are your own? The slinky dark cat silhouette - haunting!
I love this: The trees that are usually visible from my back door are shrouded in cloud cover this morning, there are some lovely walking tracks through this land. ... I can't help wondering if there is a giant cat stalking just outside, hidden in the bushes.

Sort:  

LOL - your choice of cougar the cat is far more intriguing than cougar the woman, in this case.
You remind me of the term "bushwhacking" - most of us outside the bush of Australia have no concept of The Bush. We probably imagine whacking at some shrubbery with a machete. Novelist Rod Usher has described long days of bushwhacking - I cannot even imagine tackling that daunting job.
Everyone should read Rod Usher but hardly anyone has even heard of him

whacking at some shrubbery with a machete.

That is pretty much how it is done, but usually when I have "bushwacked" it was when I found myself off the beaten track unintentionally as a teenager (up to no good), and have found a big stick to do the job of wacking the way through. I remember once with friends on a school camp we wacked our way for what seemed like several kilometres to the beach, only to find in the light of day that we were meters from a lovely sandy path. We were torn to shreds and in a spot of trouble from the teachers.

Ooh, that beach story would be great material for a 5-Minute freewrite!
Maybe we should ask @mariannewest to consider "bushwhacked" as (bushwacked?) as a prompt someday. :)

I write on autopilot a lot of the time. Early morning, pre dawn, precoffee , what Was it you called it...? STREAM OF CONSCIOUSNESS! (Yes I peaked back... 😂 ), it is afternoon now, I have hopeless 3pm fatigue and my brain goes out the window.
I just thought What beach Story? too.
I had to look back at my comment history for that.., ahh.., my misspent youth. That is very much the amended pg version of that co educational misadventure up the new South Wales coast line of Eastern Australia. My teenage daughter reads my steemit posts. She knows she is much more responsible than both of her parents, but we have spared our children the details that preceded our over protective "helicopter parenting " hovering tendencies.

I must get back on to discord soon, I have to register again I don't have a recollection of creating a pin for discord either TWICE!
I fear I'm missing out on the real party over there on discord.

I write with ease in comments because I don't think about whether or not something is post worthy. Much like the harsh self assessments you made, I often don't deem my ramblings post worthy, but comments are OK. And comments are very lacking on steemit at the moment, they are important. And I'm allowing myself to start a sentence with AND which I would never do in a post it's just not right. So I stop and think about that and lose my flow.

Waffling in comments is okay.

PS after finishing your story this morning the stand out character, although not the protagonist, is definitely Helga. I love Helga! I want to hear more about Helga!

The cat pics are from an article. I linked it at the bottom of the post, unsuccessfully.
https://www.theherald.com.au/story/4578820/the-big-black-cats-that-roam-our-bush-poll-photos/

Not unsuccessfully! I just failed to see. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59989.12
ETH 2380.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49