One Big Mask for the Over-Thinking Mind

in #freewrite6 years ago

So many sounds. Fake ocean waves waft from one end of the house. The slow and steady click of the grandfather clock in the hall. A gentle whoosh from the ceiling fan at full speed. The periodic tap of the water filter beneath the sink. They mask the silence of nighttime.

IMG_20180823_154635.jpg

There is no masking the noise of daytime. The crash of real ocean waves is hard to silence, but the best way is with the business of the mind. That way the relaxation seeps in slowly, unintentionally. Life is just lived, and not contemplated. First, you need distraction.

Achieve distraction by digging a hole in wet sand without the assistance of one of those kiddie beach shovels. No big shells will be nearby to turn into a tool. So, scratch it up with the fingernails, two hands digging like a dog’s paws. Then, let the ocean’s ground water seep up. Very good, and now you’ve got a pool, but not for sitting in. Here’s the distracting part—help little hands catch sand crabs to their heart’s content, before the sneaky little guys burrow back down. And then stir up the sand again; repeat.

IMG_20180823_154512.jpg

Next, leave the wet sand behind. Sit in the sugar sand. Allow little kids to pour it all over you, and just when you are getting lazy-eyed, plan to be pulled from your warm sun protected cocoon. Now you must make a tot into a mermaid by turning legs into one big sand-fin. This, of course, is entirely unrealistic because no tot is going to keep her legs still long enough to succeed, but do it anyway—it's distracting. In fact, try it about five times.

IMG_20180823_154438.jpg

Now, go sit in the water a bit. Get pushed around. Get sand wedged into parts of a bathing suit that only a fully functioning washing machine will ever extract. Lastly, walk the waves; comb the sand and shells, and find the art made by human and ocean collaborations. Who knows, you might get lucky, and find some of the rare colors: blue and green.

IMG_20180823_154755.jpg

And there, you are done. You didn’t even hear the waves, did you? One big mask over the over-thinking mind.

Sort:  

Wow, you really drew me in and I was captivated by your story as I felt the sand all over me watching you play. lol

You had the advantage as far as the post-beach experience. Sand, sand, everywhere...

I guess I don't over think enough. In fact, I go to the beach to hear the surf. A surfin' safari! ;-)

I do like the sound, although I almost never remember hearing it - and not intentionally. Too much going on. I always feel it though. The sound is like a vibration that moves everything in the vicinity just a tad.

Not much of a sufrin safari today. The Beach Boys would be bummed. Low tide and tiny waves. One lonely surfer was giving it a go, but looked dejected :)

I like your observation that surf sounds are vibrations. There is, however, nothing more depressing than a dejected surfer.

The poor fellow. He's probably at home right now, looking up the tide schedule.

My thought exactly.

Your glass is pretty. I have found it on pebbly Lake Huron beaches worn to the shape of the other pebbles.

That's nice, the more worn the better. I rarely see them worn down really hard, just softened a bit. I suspect I have a lot of competition in my area.

Beautiful pictures to go with your writing.
I like to dig clams with my bare hands--like a dog when I see a show. Sometimes, it's hard for me not to even when the season is closed :) And, when I'm digging and looking so intently for the next, I have to remind myself to look up at the magnificence of the surf and the sky!

Digging clams, that does sound fun. Big clams? I always want to handle those big thick shells but they come up broken here, and none to dig.

So much to do at the beach that is actually very little to do. It's lovely.

I dig for the razor clams. They're pretty big, but long, thin shells, hence the name razor, as you can cut your fingers digging them.
Abe's 016.JPG

Nice. That's very cool.

Ahhhhh, what nice visions and images of sitting and 'playing' on beach sand - haven't done that for a long while... even though walked in some recently... :) Not the same... Ooohhhh pretty coloured glass! I like!!

Hadn't done it for years, until I had kids. Adults miss out on so much :)

Yes, I agree... I remember, enjoying such activities when niece and nephew were growing up... Now they are 24 and 26! Lol...

Congratulations @ginnyannette! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Good to know I'm not the only one in love with bottle glass re-shaped by the sea! They are like treasures!

People scrutinize my collection. Some pieces have been tossed around on the surf more than others - some still have a sheen to them. All art to me. If the edges have been softened, it's sea glass. Actually, if it's found in the sea, it's sea glass :)

I also like picking up random rocks - the man-made kind. I like to speculate where they came from. A piece of the beach houses sliced in half last September, or just a bit of eroded street?

Oh, I call it sea glass too! I find if way more prettier than real jewels....for me jewels are just shiny rocks!

or golf. the father in law is an overthinker and he said that he has to concentrate on his swing so much that he cannot think about anything else. And thats why he loves golf!

Distraction/concentration, I suppose its all the same thing when you come down to it :)

Sounds like a nice way to distract oneself.

It is a nice exfoliating distraction too.

hey how big is that dang beach anyways? it looks like it hundreds of feet wide! I like that glass, I'd be a glass collector. haha that's a good one, did you see my post a couple days ago about glass collecting? lol

The beach is pretty dang long. Yes I did see your post, and that's a pretty cool collection. I've always liked shiny things that can break. I can kind of visualize you out on the beach with a cowboy hat and a metal detector, picking up glass in between trying to dig up treasure. "It's the journey, not the destination," I think is what every metal-detecting-beach-treasure-hunter is thinking as they uncover yet another random piece of scrap metal.

Yep, you'll never admit it, but you'd like it here.

haha! well I'd definitely like to hang out at the beach and look for glass, does it wash up and then you find it on the dry sand or do you find it in shallow water or both?

I find it in both places, but mostly on the sand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13