The Scout. A Five Minute Freewrite.

in #freewrite6 years ago

Today's #freewrite prompt: Scout

I am going to march right up to that scout and tell him that I am the one he is looking for. He probably doesn’t even know it yet. Look at him, just sitting there in his three-piece suit. He looks so out of place in this flannel and Carhartt town. I shouldn’t wait until the basketball game Friday night—he might see Rosie play then, and I will have missed my chance for a scholarship. I have got to get out of this town, and a free ride to college is the only way it is going to happen. Papa already told me that he wasn’t going to waste good money to send a dumb girl like me to no hoity-toity college. I won’t even feel bad if I just happen to trip Rosie when she strides past me to do a layup when we warm up before the game. Her family has money anyway. Her Papa owns the only grocery store in town, and she drives a brand new red convertible. Stupid car on these dusty roads, if you ask me.

Thanks @mariannewest for the #freewrite prompt.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ghostsinahatbox! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hmm, that was interesting. The poor girl, you really made me feel for her upset. By the way, I love the first sentence.

Anyway,I'm in charge of delivering the latest prompt, so here ya go:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-159-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-think

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!
There's chances to WIN something great!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44