Freewrite Favorites, Volume #39!

in #freewrite5 years ago

000000000header.jpg

Click on the photos to read the blog posts

Remember if a post is older than 6 days, try to find something more recent to upvote so they can get the rewards. Thank you so much for your support!

FWH-faves.png

@nmcdougal94

I enjoyed reading this story here by @nmcdougal94 Even with such a short read, it drew me in and made me feel as if I can see the boat, the fish, and the beacon, as if I were in that boat. ~ @pixiehunter

nmcdougal94.jpg

FWH-faves.png

@pixiehunter

Listen up everyone! @pixiehunter is back in the house! She wrote a beautiful story about her love for her son. He is all grown up now and you can feel her worries about letting go. Please head on over to her post and give her some love during this difficult time. ~ @whatisnew

pixiehunter.jpg

FWH-faves.png

@improv

@improv, I enjoy your stream-of-consciousness freewrites, but this shows us what you can do when you set out to create a story. Did you really do this in five minutes, no editing? I want to kidnap your Muse and put her to work for me!
Mount Balefire. There is always a beacon atop Mount Balefire. And down, into the canyon, though there are no roaming dogs, you will find the Cafe of shuttered windows. Love it. Great opening line.
I love this short, succinct-but-loaded, mythic fantasy. The tone is epic and sweeping, rich and timeless. There's even a crime noir vibe. Dogs no longer roam these streets: that is a telling detail, provocative, making me want to know what's left. Behind a shuttered window, a drenched old man, for there are only men and cats in this town - every single word on its own is a simple word, but put together, they convey so much more than meets the eye. You're a born writer @improv! You've got "it." ~ @carolkean

improv.jpg

FWH-faves.png

@d00k13

I liked the positivity that radiated from this post by @d00k13 It is indeed difficult to discover that we ourselves are the light when all the time we think that it is to be found outside.
He has done that and that is why he can explain it beautifully through this post. touchwood.
Please do read his post. ~ @sayee

d00k13.jpg

FWH-faves.png

@carolkean

I usually am fond of @carolkean works - I have no idea how she gets so much down in five minutes! - but this one speaks volumes about a topic I love: chickens! Her short story has a ton of info in it. We learn how to catch the nasty rooster one had to run from (at night, with a hook, a crate and the kids), why it met its demise when it did ("One of his progeny did get escape our breakfast skillet and grew up to be a fine looking rooster, so the Ha-Ha Rooster went to the chopping block."), and ends with a nice capture of mixed feelings and the circle of life. There's only a couple more days to show the love on this one, so read it today! ~ @owasco

carolkean.jpg

FWH-faves.png

Check out what else is going on over at @freewritehouse!

[WINNING-01-300.png]

300-wewrite.png

WE-Write Partner Up!

We know that you have been waiting for this one to return. Find a partner (or several) and get going. And PRIZES!!! 10 SBI Sponsored by @ntowl

literary-award.jpg

Thank you @txatxy for the graphics

The Freewrite House Literary Talent Award - Spanish/English

Find @mariannewest and her daily prompts to join us for a new freewrite prompt every day!

250-daily.png

And don't forget to watch for the chance to win SBI for nominating your favorite freewrites each week! The post goes up on Tuesdays!

250-FW-Fave.png

Sort:  

Thank you @sayee for the recommendations 💪

And thank you @freewritehouse for continuing to be a crucial part of my daily creative outlet 😘

Posted using Partiko iOS

Welcome, stay blessed

Likewise 🤙

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love this feature of all the faves in one place. Thanks!

I love it too! And the graphic with the story boxed in is a cool feature, but seeing a reader's words fram that story is cooler yet. Thank you so much for that @owasco (the nomination, the comments!)! And (sorry to repeat this from the previous post for nominating freewrites), yes, I grew up on a farm, where we ate the chickens and cows and pigs we had named. I knew a woman who raised sheep and she said, "I'd almost rather eat a person I didn't know than eat one of my sheep."

We had another rooster named Weirdo who came to us from a high school science teacher who tested hatching time of eggs when radiation was used, and we volunteered to take the hatchlings. Most were normal enough, but we wondered if Weirdo had been "radiated" and mutated. He had a crooked neck. He was so friendly, we let him in the house more than once. Not a normal rooster!

You are teeming with great stories!
No way I could eat anything I have named.
I once had a hen I couldn't turn my back on and was not sad the day she keeled over dead, but no roosters are allowed in this burb. Having a nasty rooster would ruin my experience of my sweet ladies. I need to be able to walk freely among them as they clean up and nourish my garden.

Lovely image - you "walk freely among them" in the garden, you and your "ladies." My husband's bachelor cousin Keith (now past age 60) is a dairy farmer, and he refer to the herd as "my girls." And, yeah, I mail him a Valentine every year, because nobody else does. Bachelors and widows, spinsters and loners - now I just need to make my own valentine cards because roosters and Holsteins are hard to find. Thanks for reading and commenting, @owasco!

Right on bro 💪

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sorry I missed the deadline, I've been slacking the last two weeks. There are some great #freewrites among these selections. Just pick a story, you won't be disappointed. 👍👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh no!! Uncle Bruni has been slacking???? What is the world coming to! 🤪

I think it was the birthday cake overload 🎂

Posted using Partiko Android

That was a beautiful birthday cake!! Next time, invite all of us so you don't have to eat the whole thing LOL

Thank you for posting my freewrite here :) I'm really happy that so many people are enjoying my writing. This has been such an awesome experience.

Posted using Partiko Android

We are glad that you are enjoying your experience!!

I'll hopefully be branching out more with the opportunities your community offers. I need to figure out how to record me reading with my cell phone without it being too much of a pain. Then I can start submitting to the FreeRead stuff :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33