5 Minute Freewrite Challenge Day 30 A Special Occasion

in #freewrite7 years ago

A special occasion is often a reason to lose weight because:

  • I’m getting married
  • I’m going to be in a wedding
  • I’m going on vacation
  • Summer is coming
  • I’m turning 30 and I still can’t be fat

Or I can’t lose weight until:

  • I finish school
  • The kids go to school a different number of hours
  • I change jobs
  • I quit smoking

Why do we prioritize feeling better to last? If instead you shut down all those other occasions for a few months and focus on health – then you can go on and enjoy every occasion for the rest of your life – rid of the misery.

Life is life - not an occasion

I remember a dad at one of my son’s birthday parties twenty years ago. He was some other kid’s dad and stayed for the fun. When I was serving cake, he was eating a chicken breast he got out of the pocket of his pants. I was floored. I told him to please eat cake like a normal person.

He said, “I lost weight about 10 years ago and I have to be really strict for a bunch of reasons. So this is all I can have right now, but I am fine, thanks.”

I said, “How can a bite of cake hurt you?” and he said,

“You have no idea.”

And he was right. I was so far behind him at that time.

My entry for #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. It’s only 5 minutes, but gets you going. This is a challenge to join if you like to write and need to get posting at steemit.

A place I remember well

fitinfun garage light explosion steemit.PNG

My photo is from a bad time and brought me hope. This was a garage I was staying in. A year after losing weight and now I had lost everything else. You never know what is around the next corner.

fitinfun tired of being overweight sharon french amazon.png

Nothing at fitinfun would be possible if I was still obese.

Sort:  

Nearly everything you do is of no importance, but it is important that you do it.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Great share Sharon. Great story. Just shows knowlege is power. As you know I'm like no carbs no sugar. After going off that in the US, I'm finally getting my 6 pack back and nobody can believe I'm 35. A mix of cheap white four and white sugar is a recipe to get fat. Looking forward to seeing you Thursday. - Dan

Me too! I'm thinking of what food to get now :)

You will be seeing it again soon enough over there. I'm sure the obesity level will have ticked higher since you were there in July. I'm discouraged with some of my weight loss connections recently. The bad info is staggering.

Sugar is as addicting as crack some studies say. All I recall seeing were endless ads and signs along the streets for food that is carb or sugar rich Almost impossible to escape the temptation as the junk food, is cheap, convenient, and in your face. It's trendy too, everyone is doing it! Just take a bite it won't hurt. That's some strong will power that guy had to pull some chicken out of his pocket! Wow.

Yes, and now I'm kind of like that - I will not eat something I know will make me sick and I carry food with me.

So, so true!! Life is a special occassion!!
Two options today! Challenge yourself with a 3-prompt freewrite (15 min) or choose from any of the single prompts we did before.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-3-the-first-sentence
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-31-weekend-freewrite-3-single-prompt-option

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80