5 Min Writing Prompt "My Shoe Got Stuck in the Mud" #freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

mudmonster.jpg

Shelly was over an hour late for class.

"Shelly!" the teacher exclaimed. "Why are you so late? I was worried about you."

"My shoe got stuck in the mud." Shelly explained.

Teacher put her hands on her hips. "For over an hour? Now Shelly you know I don't like fibs."

Some of the other kids had started to giggle. Shelly looked around the classroom, then back at the teacher.

"Mud monster tried to eat me."

An uproar of laughter filled the classroom. Teacher hushed the classroom and turned on the little girl. "Shelly what did I just tell you about fibbing?"

"It's true!" Shelly cried in exasperation. "The mud monster attacked me and I had to fight him for over an hour! It was an epic battle!"

More stifled giggles from everyone. The teacher held up her hand and the class went quiet again. Then she pointed to the door and told Shelly to go to the office.

Sitting in the office, waiting to see the principal, Shelly looked out the window, across the schoolyard to a space between the trees.

She could see him out there - the mud monster, waiting for her just past the trees. But Shelly wasn't scared. She would use fire, and bake him to a hardened crust. Then she would take a sledgehammer and smash him into fine powder.

She would completely and utterly destroy him.



Written in five minutes from the writing prompt, "My Shoe Got Stuck in the Mud" as part of the #freewrite exercise. Image created by me as well. You can view the prompt here and check out the other entries; none of them will get you stuck in the mud. Thanks to @mariannewest for creating and running this spring thaw of a writing challenge.

Sort:  

I love how Shelly is going to destroy the mud monster! You go girl! Tip!

Thanks very much for your kind generosity.

My pleasure! : )

no one ever believes little girls and fighting monsters.........it's really very sad cuz littles girls are dirty fighters........

When I made the drawing, I originally thought to depict Shelly with a little mud on her. Then I decided to make her spotless so as to maintain the mystery...

errrrrr dirty as in sneaky...... I was making a joke :D or a play on words :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61795.04
ETH 3458.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52