I Found The People!

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

D5E82784-813D-43E6-BCAD-01956EED3FAE.jpeg

I’ve been in Mexico for two weeks, and several days of that in one of the most populated cities in the world. Mexico city has about 22 million people and I’ve wondered where the hell are they all. I’ve walked along Reforma, hanged around in hip and cool Roma, and went to stroll around in Coyoacan. While there were people all around, I wasn’t faced with a mass of humans. Sure I know they are all spread out in a big area, but still, I wondered where the hell are they all. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining, I hate the masses and walking among them, but I am curious, it’s been way too peaceful considering this is a mega city.

Be careful what you wish for... Today I finally found them! My current Airbnb is situated near the historical centre and BAM, here they are! Thousands and thousands going about their touristing and shopping, all moving along in a massive herd, which is one circle of hell for me.

I walked around for maybe three hours, criscrossing the streets of historical centre. While there are a lot of beautiful museums and old builduings, it’s hard to consentrate on them with all the people around. Apparently the centre is also the main shopping district, filled with your basic American and internationally known brands from Starbucks to H&M and Burger King.

I did something I hardly ever do, and walked around without having my camera out. It’s like a crutch for me, and I like to have it as my companion on travels, especially when I am alone. Sometimes it might stop me from seeing everything around me, because I’m only looking at what fits into a 23mm lens. So today I tried to be without, hands free, just walking and looking, without recording what I see into a memory card.

Okay not totally hands free, I had a latte from Starbucks on my right hand, yes Starbucks, do scold me if you wish but it’s good stuff! I usually go for something else when I travel, so I’m a little less American looking (while being Finnish), but I have to say, they make a good latte, where ever in the world you are. I like consistency god damn it.

I did pop by on a Levi’s store and some other random ones, mostly to get off the growded street. Didn’t find anything I really wanted so I saved my money. I like shopping but mostly online, because I don’t like when people talk to me unnessesarily and try to help me find something, aka buy something. Every store has ten people asking how they can help me. JUST GO AWAY AND LET ME BROWSE, I’ll ask if I need help. The chances of me buying something are exponentially higher if nobody talks to me until I get to the cashier to pay what I found. I leave a store if I can’t browse in peace, which I have to do all the time in here.

I must admit, it was hard walking around without taking pictures. Almost boring. The only picture I took was the one on this post, a fast snap on the phone to illustrate this post. I like walking but it’s not enough of an entertainment for me if I don’t have company or a camera with me. It feels kind of useless otherwise, unless I’m half naked on a sunny beach, then I can walk around for hours without doing anything else. Cities make me anxious easily, and framing a shot calms me, focuses me.

All the streets in this area are packed with people, everyone moving in a huge mass, and every shop and restaurant has three people hollering at you. There is no time for daydreaming in a place like this, one has to be very mindful of every step and taking care of ones belongings. Places like these are not my cup of tea, but have to experiense them also.

Hope you enjoyed my free writing style babbling for tonight. I’m gonna go and chill with Netflix now and hopefully fall asleep early, because I’m boring AF.

Sort:  

Be careful. Come to the USA! :) lol

This is the proof you have great posts, and don't even need the cool photos!

Ps. Don't get me wrong, please continue to post photos! I just like your writing style 😜

Posted using Partiko Android

This was one of those rare times when the writing flowed smoothly, most of the times it’s a sruggle! I appreciate that you like my writing too :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=eveuncovered
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=i-found-the-people


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Ah! There they are. Locals :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57305.83
ETH 3076.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40