When Your Heart Says No

in #freewrite5 years ago

Some of you know I'm learning drawing and maybe painting but the second one is just a dream, I'm never going to be good at it. Drawing on the other hand is a different matter. I believe it can be learned to some extent if you practice a lot. I'm not going to be famous but it's only for my entertainment and a form of relaxing, so I'm ok with every outcome. I'm always laughing at my drawings and have a lot of fun.

One of the things I always wanted to try out is working with layers. I thought for my "art" I would use some old, yellowish paper, a book of poetry will do. There's a good second-hand bookshop I know and today I went to look for a good old poetry book. When I opened the door what I saw was a shocking scene. Books were lying everywhere, Shelves were full, the floor was full, basically there was no room for people, buyers. This can be good as you have a great variety to choose from but the chaos that was ruling the place would not make that possible.

So I asked the shopkeeper where the poetry books were, he pointed me to the right direction and I started to look at the books on the shelves. I needed an old book with yellowish pages that looks old. I got one that looked perfect for me and when I wanted to pay the guy said the price is around $5. That was too much for what i wanted to do. Cutting in pieces a book that worth $5 is not fun, I needed a cheaper one. So I went back and found the book on the right side of the photo. It's a book of old ballads, the pages look old, perfect for my project. In the other shop I was lucky to bump into that watercolor paper which was at a very reasonable price so I got one and came home happy.

y9mxdbf9hm.jpg

Once I got home the first thin I did was to check out the watercolor paper and the book. The watercolor paper is fine, I don't know how it's going to react to water and paint, I hope 230g/m2 is thick enough but we'll see. The book on the other hand is a different matter.

When I looked to at back of the book I saw it was released in 1955 and when I started to read it, knew right away that I won't be able to use it. I find it very valuable, too valuable to cut it into pieces.

It contains old ballads written in a language that is not used anymore. I thing those ballads date back to he 19th century or even older and I'm going to read it for sure.

You may be wondering why I had to go to the bookshop to buy a book as everyone has a book or two at home. I don't have one or two, I have hundreds, around 600 if I'm not mistaken. Las time after repainting the room it took me half a day to clear the room from books and two days to put them back on bookshelves. Each one is valuable and I don't think I'll be able to cut any book in pieces, so my project is stuck at this point.

At first I thought I would go back and buy another book that I'm not going to be attached to but will i be able to tear pages out of that? I know myself and the answer is no.

Call me oldschool but I still prefer printed books over electronic devises. It's a nice feeling to hold a paper book in your hand and enjoy scrolling through the pages. I was brought up to respect books, I love paper in general and hate it when people don't have any respect for books or newspaper.

However, while writing this post I just remembered that my grandmother had some book pieces, part of books, a few pages here and there in one of her drawers. Those are old books that went through a lot and who knows what's happened to them that we only have bits and pieces. Those I can use without any remorse as you can't read them anymore. The other option is to use magazines but I don't like glossy paper.

So many problems you would say :) Well, these are not real problems, my life does not depend on this, it's just something that happened today and I thought I'd put it on paper. Oh, wait, we don't use paper for blogging anymore, right? :D

steemit-border

Posted using eSteem Surfer

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobile📱& PC💻 app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.
eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobile📱
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PC💻
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

steemit-border

Vote for @good-karma witness

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I find your story so crispy. We can follow the plot and find excitement. And the end we can smile widely.
Yes now we don need paper for create a post..
Thank you @erikah
Warm regard from Indonesia

Thank you, have a nice weekend 😊

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 6 of my contest just started...check it out!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory
2

I love books too and would have a hard time cutting one up, so I understand! Maybe an old school textbook with outdated information would work!

I got a few pages of an old book that was already in pieces. Problem solved.

Hi @erikah!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.129 which ranks you at #3450 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 96 contributions, your post is ranked at #24.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Interesting, my rank is never changing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63835.35
ETH 2630.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82