Impulsive

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)


“Let’s get nose rings!”

Lina grabbed my hand and pulled me toward the nail salon where a poster in the window advertised a $25 special.

“Sure.”

I didn’t have much more than that in my wallet, but this seemed like more fun than asking someone in our dorm to buy vodka for us.

Our nose rings turned out to be nose studs, colored pieces of glass on titanium posts that were supposed to represent our birthstones. Mine was sky blue; Lina’s was yellow.

I sat down in the chair, and the woman who would pierce me examined my nose in silence. She marked me with a purple dot and held a mirror up for me to judge.

“It’s okay?”

I nodded, and she nodded back before retrieving her piercing gun from a drawer. Her deft fingers slid my stud into the chamber then pulled my cartilage into position.

“Okay?”

She didn’t wait for my reply. I squeaked in surprise as the metal tore a stinging hole through my skin. The woman laughed, and held the mirror up once again.

“It’s okay?”

Taking the mirror, I grinned at my reflection and blinked a few times to clear tears from my eyes without touching my makeup.

“I love it!”

I showed Lina mine, and she showed me hers. With slightly swollen red noses we left the salon, using the last of our money to split a burger and fries.

Lina wore her nose ring for three months. Mine got infected after a week.

I kept the stud though. I still have it now, twenty years later, packed in a box with the rest of my memories.


Inspired by the 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt - Nose Ring provided by the lovely @mariannewest!



Sort:  

but this seemed like more fun than asking someone in our dorm to buy vodka for us.

Now that is a writing prompt. Oh, all the terrible things such a form of decision-making can lead to. And if you ask me, as someone who does not drink alcohol and has never been drunk, I'd still go for the vodka :P

And once more, like the last piece I commented on, that last line makes the breath catch in my chest. Not memorabilia, but memories. Memories, like her stud, are often a sharp piece of glass. It twinkles and draws us, but we are afraid to look, and even more afraid to get rid of them.

Funny things, memories.

LOL you start out so funny ! you just brought me back to my teens, awsome job💖💖💖

Thank you!

💞

Definitely took me back in time. Thanks so much for sharing this freewrite! Made me smile thinking of the time I passed out after getting my belly button pierced right after an excruciating h.s. jrotc equivalent to a three day initiation process. Was it a bad idea? Yeah, but it was definitely fun to do hahaha 👏👏👏♥

Thank you!

I love that this is bringing people back in time!

💙

Ahhh... the memories! I love it. You reminded me of when I got mine pierced (except I was almost 40 and got it done with my daughter) Mine also got infected and I could NOT get it to heal... but my daughter's is still going strong!

I’m helping marianne out today and visiting freewriters, here is the prompt for the next freewrite!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-84-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-sound-check

The memories will stay for a lot longer than the piercing!

💚

I loved how smooth your memories go in the reading, very genuine and nice moments of friendship, brava!

Thank you, but it's all fiction!

💚

yeah we are going to go on the same situations i think lol

Thank you, but this one just came from my imagination!

💙

Your post is so Diamond! I love reading your post so much!!! 💚 💚 💚

Thank you, I love reading yours as well!

💚

Wow that looks so good and the way you have introduced made me a big fan of your writing @ellievallie!!

love that this is bringing people back in time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58188.83
ETH 2585.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40