Hunter Gathering

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)


“Corn?”

I can’t see her, but I can hear her. Somewhere in a different area she is moving things around. If I can hear her, she can hear me, so again I call out.

“Corn?”

The noises pause. I take my food dish in my beak and bang it against the side of my cage. Metal clangs on metal to carry my signal.

I stop and I listen. Three faint beeps come in response.

I send a whistle to her, but she does not reply. That's fine. She must be finding me the corn.

Beep-Beep-Beep-Beep-Beep.

The high pitched alert travels to me and I stretch my neck in its direction. My wings lift automatically; my body prepares to take flight toward the source of corn.

But my wings have been clipped and though my cage door is open, I can no longer fly. I bang my food dish again and I wait.

She comes carrying the scent of warm corn, and I make the sound of water. Water is love. Water is life. She replies with friendly noises and pets my beak before putting the corn in my food dish.

Again I make the sound of water. The sound of appreciation.

She says something back, but I have stopped listening.

I’m now very focused on eating my corn.


Inspired by the 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt - Corn provided by the lovely @mariannewest!



Sort:  

Is this a robot? Is this Big Bird? If so, where is coyote?

And ah, "Water is love, water is life," I like that taking of the meme back to something a bit more grounded.

But that bird though. I can tell you that some cats would go to their food first and foremost, while others, so long I'm there to pet them? Even if they hadn't eaten all day, they'd follow me and demand the petting.

Then again, "Corn!" she demanded, so the bird is not about the love, it's about the corn. It's good to know what one wants, even if one has but the brains of a bird.

Cute!

Don't underestimate the brains of a bird - that little guy has the intelligence of a young child!

so cute!! Your bird self was writing :)

My bird self!

🕊️

This was inspired by an African Grey my mother had. He really did love corn so much that he learned the word for it!

That is cool!!!

Like this bird this is really silently watching

I want to pet his feathers!

Oh you got me!

The high pitched alert travels to me and I stretch my neck in its direction. My wings lift automatically; my body prepares to take flight

Was totally prepared to read this was a smoke detector and the bird was gonna die in an inferno from which her clipped wings permitted no escape.

Maybe that's what you meant to do, maybe I'm just morbid. Either way, great read!

It was just the microwave...or in his mind, the announcement that corn had been found!

I figured microwave when no fire broke out lol. Really good one 😊

Here comes @ellievallie with one of her fine works! I'm reviewing all the entries today.. nice and original, I loved the perspective. I remember a poetry you did, it was really mystical and deep..

Yesterday a group of ancient bananafish appeared to me in a dream. They gave me a mission: to mariannewestize myself and bring the freewrites' gospel to the world!

Single prompt option

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-01-13-2018-single-prompt-option

3 prompt option
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-jan-13-2018-part-1-the-first-sentence

Mission successful!

Very nice idea, love it :-) Great written!

Cleverly written. Progresses at a pace that kept me reading yet didn't allow complete disclosure of who this character was. By the time I realised it was a bird in a cage you had me hooked. Good read.

Thank you!

💚

woow!! that picture gave me chills all over, love the texture you got!!!! wooohoo you!
then da beep beep , ha ha soo can relate! :D ha ha <3 :D

Thank you!

The photo just came from Pixabay but this was definitely the type of bird that inspired the story.

aw your so welcome sweets🐉💗
puurrfect birdy for this story :D you nailed it :D

what a wonderful story. began to read like a great detective. )

The Hunt for the Hidden Corn!

Nice story :) At least in the end focused on the corn lol

That's what he really wanted!

Well corn is delicious :D no wonder!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87