Cleansing

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)


The girl and the boy sat on grass with a picnic spread out between them.

“Tell me about yourself,” he said, and she flinched.

“There isn't much to say.”

She looked away, hoping he would leave it at that.

“No, tell me, I want to get to know you.”

She shook her head in silence as tears gathered in the corners of her eyes.

“Please?”

Her heart swelled for a moment, but again she shook her head.

“I don’t like to talk about myself.”

He took a bite of his sandwich, squinting his eyes at her as he swallowed.

“Do you steal donkeys and cut off their tails for fun?”

She kept her lips closed but a laugh came from behind them.

“No. Definitely not.”

“Then what?” He leaned forward and guessed again, then again, and as he got closer she nodded.

He stopped talking, and she spoke.

Tears spilled forth with her words as she said all of the things that she thought she never would.

“Now I'm crying,” she said when she finished. “I can't even talk without crying.”

The boy reached out and brushed his fingers against her cheek.

“Is that all it was? You’re fine. The tears are just floss to remove the debris.”


Inspired by the 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt - I Floss My Tears posted by the lovely @mariannewest!



Sort:  

“Tell me about yourself,” he said, and she flinched

I love how much you say with every word you choose. I read this and flinched. At memories, with fear at what the rest of the story might bring, with sorrow for a character who had only existed for a span of seconds. Incredible.

I am literally blushing now.

You left a writer speechless!

💚

Oh my word. This was the SWEETEST THING EVER. That last part just... perfection!

Thank you!

💚

You write the sweetest stories and you totally got the prompt in!!

Thank you!

It was a strange prompt, but it made me think of the last line right away. That means it was also a good prompt!

donkey lol

It's very bad to steal donkeys and cut off their tails!

woow that picture, i got chills all over💖💖💖 IT!

The tears are just floss to remove the debris.”

spot ON!!!

Emotional cleansing!

jupp, one dooo need that! Makes you a new personღ❤ღ❤

So beautiful, what a story. A sunny day in the grass, the two of them, great written <3

This piece is so tender hearted and powerful at the same time. Thanks for sharing this with us!

You are very welcome!

💚

Love this piece. I can "see" them sitting on the grass... With the boy being so gentle and sweet. I can feel the girl's sadness... Touching freewrite! 💗❤️💖💕♨️

Thank you!

I got so emotional writing this, I'm so happy that came through.

💚

Happy for you too! We got to enjoy this beautiful sweet touching writing!

Lovely, really short and sweet and while quite specific it remains general enough for anyone to relate.

I loved it.

Thank you so much, that's exactly what I was trying to do!

💚

Oh that's lovely. I always know I'll get a treat when I visit one of your stories @ellievallie.

Here's the link to freewrite 82:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-82-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-stetson

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68227.33
ETH 2646.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70