Buried Treasure

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)


“Not that one!”

Claire snatched the trophy, long forgotten since her teenage years, from the box we’d labeled junk.

She stroked the silver horse head with her thumb, rubbing layers of dust from its eye. I raised my eyebrows, and she shrugged.

“I don’t want to keep it. But look how cute he is. Someone might want it.”

I laughed.

“Who would want someone else’s old trophy? It’s not even for first place.”

Her cheeks flushed as she set the trophy on the floor between her crossed legs, resting one of her hands over the equine bust in a defensive position.

“I don’t know. Maybe they’ll use it for an art project or something. Mom said not to throw anything away if it might sell.”

That seemed very unlikely, but I didn’t want to argue. We had an entire attic full of boxes to go through, and only two days left before the yard sale.

“Sure. We can try.”


Saturday morning, we put the trophy on a table next to some old costume jewelry. It sold for a dollar. Claire grinned, waving the money in my face once the little girl who wanted it and the mother who paid for it left.

“See? I told you!”


Inspired by the 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt - Yard Sale provided by the lovely @mariannewest!




@IsleofWrite logo design by @PegasusPhysics


Sort:  

Very cute. And makes me think of a potential Andy and Molly conversation in Toy Story 8

Thank you, I wanted to do something lighthearted after the last two!

💚

It is so true - we never know what people like!

That was cute! Thanks for sharing.

Very Beautiful...Thanks For Nice Post...

This also connotes, in life dont underestimate anyone, cause no one knows tomorrow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36