FreeWrite prompt: phone, Quantum Thrills part 1

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Tokyo 2033, I am riding my bycicle at full speed but I am still not sure I can make it in time. There were twelve of us secret courriers until Satoko was found dead 2 months ago. She was Immediately replaced by an android which I’m certain is not going to last. That thing just wasn’t made from the right material. I smell the donburi and the bibimbap from nearby restaurants glowing with neon lights. It feels so good to ride in Kooenji, not like all the other impersonal districts around here. I am riding too fast, I almost ran over a couple there. I’m next to the station, I have to go through the mall or nothing, even if it’s not allowed. I can hear the Pachinko machines to my right as a man is coming out surprised by my uncompromising speed. There’s too many people, I am bobbing and weaving between them. Oh great, a group of schoolgirls, they make way for me just in time. My phone rings, what the hell? It’s Satoko! Suddenly, I am run over by a garbage truck.

8456C4C5-4F09-446D-9585-15A10C4A5D79.png

This was a FreeWrite inspired by @mariannewest.

Sort:  

I love how the story kept building with intense energy and I sure didn't expect the ending. I thought you were going to run over someone. Nicely done!

Resident cat here, delivering today's woody prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-244-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-wood

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thank you, much appreciated!

Intriguing! I would to read more!

You think I should continue it?

Why not? I'd like to know who Satoko was, if he's really dead, and what the secret courriers carry...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66