Monday Freewrite- Prompt: frosting a cake

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180313_145851098 (1).jpg

My mother took a wash once a year, whether she needed it or not, so suffice to say I had something of a reluctance to swallow any food she might prepare. Little wonder I was so thin. Not that she ever tried frosting a cake, but on the odd occasion she could see straight, and mostly after watching an episode of the Waltons, she would bake currant scones.

To this day I regard with a healthy suspicion all baked goods of the currant variety however, my brother would devour these culinary masterpieces, and I would spend the next few hours watching him like a hawk lest he show any signs of food poisoning.

These were pre-internet times and being in possession of a little book called SYD (see your doctor), which was a list of common illnesses and their symptoms, I was the appointed family physician. Though, truth to tell, I once pronounced my father dead when he’d merely passed out drunk while sitting on the toilet. Sure by the time he stirred, we had his body laid out like we'd seen on TV, arms crossed and hands resting on his chest.

===============================

Posted in response to @mariannewest's Monday Freewrite challenge which you can see here:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-114-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-frosting-a-cake

Image is my own

Sort:  

HAHAHAHA! OMG! ROFLMAO! I sure am glad you are not my doctor. Thanks for the belly laugh! Tip!

Delighted it gave you a chuckle.....and thanks for the tip!

Oh gracious I just laughed so much. Bless the bones of every family skeleton. Of which I am sure there are many considering the tainted food supply.

Ouch, your comment is probably funnier than the post!

ok now I really love you

I relate more to that first paragraph than I would like to!

Damned Waltons. So much to answer for.

and I have the photo of him to prove it. Excellent post ms Weirdy.

Hahaha, I'm guessing you have photographic evidence of many of the family skeletons

"To this day I regard with a healthy suspicion all baked goods of the currant variety however" :o) Brilliant... That was a great freewrite @deirdyweirdy So Irish, I love it!

Thank you kindly for saying so.

Happy St. Patrick's Day DW! You are the first person I thought of for this holiday. Have fun celebrating...deliverer! : )

Ah, that's sweet of you, thanks. It's batten down the hatches and stay indoors for me.

Hehe. :-).

Ah, the Waltons, which provide a nice set-up for an unexpected turn!
Just in case you didn't know, here's today's prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-145-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-deodorize

Thanks for reading. I sometimes fear people won't get my references to 1970s pop culture.

Hi @deirdyweirdy! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @whatisnew!

@whatisnew wrote lately about: Day 144: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday-Prompt: Frosting A Cake Feel free to follow @whatisnew if you like it :)

You can now delegate SP / invest in @tipU for daily profit:) Click here to learn more :)

Hey DW! For some reason, I can't get into Discord. Just wanted to let you know that I am ready for today 3/21 and will begin at the bottom as usual. See ya in the middle. : )

Hiya, No worries, troops mustered and hatches battened down...cya midway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63813.24
ETH 2654.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76