Weekend Freewrite 5 - Single Prompt Choice - crazy

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

Giphy.com

The day had started out good, I had stopped for coffee and donuts on the way to the job site and that pretty waitress at the counter had not only smiled at me again, but she remembered my name. I had never cheated on my wife but it was good to know that the opposite sex was still attracted to me even though I was now pushing forty. The current job was nearing completion and I was feeling pretty good because the boss had told me that there was a lot more work lined up ahead of us. They were putting up new homes and expanding this subdivision faster than we could keep up, I was hoping that the investors would not get impatient and hire another contractor to help meet the demands.

Right before lunch, they scheduled another meeting, how did they expect us to get this job finished if they kept having us break for these ridiculous meetings? It was always the same things, updates from everyone! How are we doing with the upstairs trim, what about that unplanned plumbing reroute would it be completed on time? Then they would ask me if we had enough sheetrock on site to finish the job and what was taking so long in the dining room? If they asked me today what the hold-up was I was going to burn that idiot they hired to help me. I was constantly having to go back and retape seams where he had left a fold in the tape or got off line, and one whole section had to be completely redone.

The boss was in his usual position at the head of the table and as he made his way around I began to get nervous, he was being particularly tough today and he didn't seem happy at all. Then he looked up at me, he had the pencil up at his face with the eraser end pressed up against his left cheek. What is your status Larry he asked? Status, what do you mean boss we're almost caught up and back on schedule now. No Larry, he said, have you given any more thought to what we discussed yesterday. Ye yesterday I stammered, that helper...Stop it Larry, he said with the eraser now under his chin. What caused you to become so violent that day, can you tell us now what was going through your head? Vi violent...I don.. Larry focus, he said. You came home and saw your wife doing something that made you angry, do you remember now? There was a scream, an agonizing scream...

I could see them, I had come home early from a job out of town and I saw them together. The kids had already gone to sleep and Julie was in our bed with Chet from across the street. They didn't see me at first and I had backed out of the room stunned, then I went out to my truck and got a hammer...The screaming continued, and it was coming from inside of me!

Nurse Brewing was giving a tour to a new aide named Lonnie Albright that had just been hired by Seabreeze Hospital for the Criminally Insane. She had already completed his insurance paperwork and tax options and they had gone through the safety and compliance manual together. Now Lonnie she said, there are going to be a few words that you should never use around here, there is a full list back here in the back of the procedures manual. Like this one "crazy," everyone here is simply a resident or a patient according to their symptoms and awareness, and of course who you are talking to a doctor, a family member or a resident. Take Larry over there, he believes that he is on a construction site, and he is stable as long as he stays in that delusion. But if you force him out of it you'll be sorry because he becomes emotional or even violent. What's he doing asked Lonnie? Why is he tapping the wall with his slipper? To him, he has a hammer in his hand and he is installing sheetrock, that is what he was doing on his last job before the incident she said. Incident replied Lonnie? Yes, it was apparently a terrible crime scene said Nurse Brewing, the neighbors were awaked to the sound of screaming next door and had called the police. When they arrived there was blood all through the house and Larry was kneeling over his eight-year-old boy, who was gasping for air, and he had a sledgehammer raised up over his head. They were too late, the boy was the last of his victims. So if Larry tells you to retape the seams, just say "Okay Larry, sorry for the mistake I'll get right on it."

Disclaimer: I often use the freewrite prompt to tell a story instead of doing a pure freewrite, so they sometimes take longer than 5 minutes and usually have some editing. But I try to do my story straight through at one sitting without any unnecessary breaks.

Graphic by: Giphy.com

Prompt: crazy
Set your timer for 5 minutes.
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)
Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.
Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.
If you don't know what a freewrite is, here is a link to the introduction post.

Thank you @mariannewest

Sort:  

Man - you know how to hit low! My stomach cramped when we got to the little boy...... You really know how to get your reader to be right in the story...
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-45-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-the-smell-of-a-dumpster

Absolutely, it got me also and I almost took it out 🤔
But then there was that shock effect that seemed to work! 😏

Wow this was nice. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I write stories for my freewrite too. I did the single prompt one though:)

I tried to do the weekend write twice and couldn't do it in one sitting, and if I did each prompt at one sitting each I tended to get lost or lose my train of thought. So I've been sticking to the single word prompts also. Thanks for stopping by to read my story, I'll visit yours soon! 👍

But the 3 prompt ones are more challenging. You have done well:)

Nicely written!

Thank you! 🙂

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

This post has received a 2.05 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @deaconlee. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48