Todays Freewrite Prompt: Red

in #freewrite7 years ago

It was hot, almighty hot and my lips were chapped and blistered, and that stump that used to be a tongue rolled around in my mouth like a sidewinder in a dry well. How long had I been in this buffalo wallow, it was mid-morning yesterday when those Apache's appeared out of nowhere and came down on me and my partner so it had been 13-14 hours since my last drink of water. I didn't care too much for that warm water coming out of a canteen baking in this heat, but right now I wouldn't have cared if it had been boiling how just so long as it was wet.

My partner was laying out there in the grass somewhere, and I hoped that he was dead, I listened to him scream all night and there was nothing that I could do for him. Jim and I had met up in Abilene over a friendly game of poker, and sine we were both drifting in the same direction and we got along fairly well we decided it best to ride together. They call me Red Parnell, not because my hair is red like is common for such nicknames, but because I wear this bright red bandanna with fancy stitching on it. My mother had made it for me before she drew her last breath, I had told anyone about that or that I was proud of the name that had been stuck on me that had been meant as a joke. The boys on the drive up from Texas had been poking fun of me, just a kid they said, still wet behind the ears. But I took my part with grown men and earned their respect, but now it looked like all that was...

I hear moms voice calling me for supper...

Laying the stick down that was serving as my 30-30 carbine I headed for the house at a trot, I'll finish those injuns later...

Giphy

Prompt: Red
Set your timer for 5 minutes.
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)
Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.
Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.

If you don't know what a freewrite is, here is a link to the introduction post:

Sort:  

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62647.38
ETH 3335.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46