You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My soul is a church you don't want to walk in - Day 117: 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago

I would say that Church existential is probably closest, as in, you become a church unto yourself. This is the default church for those who find nothing better out there, no truth that is greater than their own. Even with the demons and with your own problems and faults, at least it is the demons that you know and the faults that you have already learned to live with. Why should you go somewhere else and have to fight someone else's demons and deal with the faults of others? When we begin looking into religion we are immediately confronted with numerous lies, hypocrisies, and extortion through our fear of the unknown. So if we can't trust, depend on, or put our faith in anything else, then we default to faith in ourselves and in our own understanding. We develop a code of ethics that fits our lifestyle and works for us and we try to stay within the moral boundaries that we have set for ourselves and try to do good in the world as we understand good.

I tried that one time but I could never measure up to my own standards, much less those of others. I was constantly in a losing battle against those demons, and what I saw as true and good didn't always turn out to be so good. So I had to go out looking again, this time I looked a little harder and since I had already made a mess of things I was a little more motivated to find Truth. ;)

Sort:  

Deacon thank you for your insightful comment and the time you took for sharing your thoughts. I think that It would have been better to say that we are the temple of God, as He made us in his image and likeness and He can live within us if we know how to receive Him in our heart. I think too that noone is sufficient/enough for himself and those that think so will walk a path full of the dangers of relativism and leak of values. About the lies and hypocrisies I just have faith in the Bible and try to use always my head, which means that I try to not accept passively but reason over my ethical choices and system of values. For the remaining part, I remember myself to be humble and pray because Im far from being a theologist and I think that a faith made of simplicity is the best one. In the end God knows us better than ourselves. These at least are my intentions, then in real life I should be way more constant! Your research is very important and I think that this attitude has to endure a lifetime and is essential for a Faith which is alive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60165.60
ETH 2421.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44