You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 46: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: gullible - My Entry

in #freewrite7 years ago

Ha ha ha Great! I got taken in by a little boy in Egypt one time at a souvenir stand near the pyramids. We had been dickering over the price of a small stone bust that I was going to take home as a gift, the one that I wanted looked just like several others on his table but it was obviously a lot better quality. He would never accept my offer, that was all of the money that I had left, so I got on the bus. Just as we were pulling away he ran up beside the bus with the item that I wanted indicating that he was ready to trade. So I reached in my pocket and got the money and handed it out the window of the now moving bus and taking the item from his hand. When I sat down I realized that he had switched items while I went for the money lol, at first I was irritated, but then I just started laughing uncontrollably. A good lesson for a young man who had never been to parts of the world where barter was prevalent. And it was also a humbling lesson, if I could so easily be taken in by a little kid I was sure no match for expert grifters.

Sort:  

lol...that kid probably grew up to be a politician. Great story, thanks for sharing. I guess we all need these lessons from time to time.

Without a doubt!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50