Today's 5 Minute Freewrite - "I Know"

in #freewrite6 years ago

silouhette.jpg

"I know mom" Those words coming from my children usually came accompanied with a slight eye roll, and would usually be a little frustrating when they are so quick to exclaim how much they know, when you know, there is so much that they do not know.

Nowadays, however, I feel differently. I am not sure when it happened, maybe sometime during their early teenage years, there was a change. Somehow "I know mom" became less of a way to get me to stop talking and nagging, but a way to say , "Don't worry mom, I got this".

I think as a mom, I was very protective of my young children. I was constantly worried about them being apart from me. So inevitably, when they had to leave my side, I had lots of reminders. Slowly, with time I began to trust, and have more faith in them, and things began to change.

My kids range from 14-22 years old. Now when they say "I know mom" I feel proud. In a way, I began to feel that yes, you do know. You know because we taught you because we let you grow and learn and try things out while we were always right behind you, ready to lift you up if you fell or help you out if you were stuck in a jam. As a parent, it's our job to help them become responsible adults. We guide, and teach, and have faith that we have done and continue to do our best.

I look at my husband and say, "We have done pretty good with them, they are great kids" He smiles and says, "I know"

This is my post for the Freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

I so love this post!! And you spoke from my heart - that is my feeling about my children as well.

Congrats on having embraced being a mom 👍

Hi dear I have entered you in the contest PIFC pay it forward hope you Will get lots off visitors !
GREETZ Britt

Great post @dalipops. It's nice to have some sort of feedback from your kids that they did learn what you taught. Very nice for a Freewrite.

Also as you may know @brittandjosie featured you in week 31 @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest. Keep up the great work.

Hi there. I can't imagine what it's like to have children. Must be a constant worry...

I have found your post because @brittandjosie featured you in her entry for The Pay It Forward Contest

It is, and then you learn to trust and enjoy.
Thank you for stopping by!

I enjoyed how that developed and came back round to a positive end. Well done on a 'wholly' meaningful read..

Posted using Partiko Android

words from the heart
Allah keep them safe

Wow that’s really touching I have never thought about the perspective of my responses to how my parents would feel about them and how it has changed over time.

Very nice read, thank you!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great post, I guess they really get more mature... and the "I know" grows up with them. My daughter is 5, and she "knows it all", I remember when I wanted to teach her older brother to play a musical instrument... We had been working on it for 10 minutes and he said: I don´t need you to teach me anymore, I know it all! So I know what you mean... but your kids are older, so I feel hopeful that mine will one day actually know things

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63119.91
ETH 2695.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56