The cinnamon-roll tree

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)


Image taken from Pixabay

The cinnamon-roll tree


A hundred Andalusians ran across the Kazakh steppe toward a forest patch. The Bolsheviki were on their heels. They wanted to murder them, to execute the escaped prisoners and those who helped them escape. But no one screamed, they tried to be as silent as they could. They could not slow down, their feet slipping on the wet weeds, worrying that a hundred people running might be too much noise. But finally, they made it. They scrambled looking for somewhere to hide from the Bolshevik hounds and when they found the cinnamon-roll tree, they hid under its skirt without hesitation.

You mean, a cinnamon tree?

Shut up! You weren’t there. You could not know what I saw when I hid from those men. Do you know why they couldn’t be found?

The smell from the cinnamon tree disguised their trace?

No! Noooo! It was not a cinnamon tree, I tell you. The cinnamon-roll tree stood from its place and left them uncovered. But as it saw that they were pitiful, it sympathised with them and rose as a titan to meet the Bolsheviki. Its branches were like giant sledgehammers that shook the entire forest patch. The Bolsheviki stood no chance against that tree. With every step, dozens of cinnamon rolls fell from its branches and satiated the Andalusians’ hunger. It was their salvation, their glorious hero.



---

This 5-minute freewrite was more premeditated than the last one, but it still has a lot of improvisation. Did you like it? Leave me a vote, maybe resteem it and definitely leave me a comment to know what you thought about it.

Come chat with me. Join our Crypto Empire community on Discord.

CryptoEmpire Banner

Sort:  

"and I don't want to see another cinnamon roll in my life!"

Imagine being traumatized by cinnamon rolls, the smell of cinnamon and the sight of big trees.

Interesting. Is this from a fantasy world you are building?

Nope, just something I thought of while I was getting water. What did you think of it? I thought some parts were really weak but, 5-minutes. Not much editing for Freewrites.

Seemed really good for a 5 minute work. I've spent more time trying to make up the name of a place, person, or group.

Ha! I usually go with random. If it sounds good, it gets assigned to the object in question.

Waah what a noble deed from the cinnamon-roll tree. It became the hero and the Savior. ^^

Its a cinnamon-roll tree! A very strong and noble cinnamon-roll tree.

Updated. ^^ it's a super duper strong one. Enjoyed the read. ^^

Hahahaha :) I was just joking because that was the fun of it. I was actually writing it first with a cinnamon tree. And while I was figuring out how to write about the hounds being fooled by the smell, I wondered "but why does it have to be the smell? What if it rises and fights!?". And then I thought "and what if it weren't actually a cinnamon tree but a cinnamon roll tree?". And there started all the fun.

You and your quirky mind.brought it to life. ^^

This post has received a 3.09 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @cryptosharon

Thank you, boomy. I love you, but you delayed your vote almost 1 hour. Lost me a lot in curation. I hope you have some sleep and lose some of that grogginess!

Hhahaha got a hangover perhaps.

I heard he uses the SBD he earns from voting on Steemit in blockchain-based strip clubs! There's a lot of drinks there, lots of lust and temptation. I'm sure he's hungover. Gotta get him prepped up for his daily voting routine.

Hhahaha. ^^ we better get him some meds. We don't want him late. ^^

hahah you have such an imagination ;p

i would pay a lottttt of steel dollars for a cinnamon roll tree. fascinating story @cryptosharon. wherever do you come up with inspiration for these ideas?!

Hahahahah, who wouldn't? It'd be so good!! :D Tasty. And I don't know. It's just easy to come up with them. I ask myself a question and the answer is usually good. "What does she use to type?", I pass on the first obvious "her fingers", and go for the second one, which is usually the first thing I imagine when asking myself something illogical. "A clothes hanger", "a piece of paper rolled up in a cilinder", "her little toe!".

aha! yes ive picked up on this! lol, but its also in a way how i think our approach to writing overlaps at some points - when im looking for a word, ill state the one i want but then i will often cycle through 10-20 synonyms or even ways to describe that way instead, and it turns into a less indirect and more cryptic way of describing the original thing. complicated, yes, but rewarding in my mind. almost like i created a little instant phonetic puzzle for readers to figure out. your puzzles are bigger, but then again so are the rewards;p

That was very cool. Thanks!

:))) Thank you. I'm glad you liked it.

The most important thing is to have fun. I thought it was great. :-)

I thoroughly enjoyed this, a wonderful story and to be written in 5 minutes is astounding. I snuck a read at work and was transported from my desk to watching this fascinating scene unfold!

Great writing, keep it up!

I love the opening. Very high energy start with lots of danger. Also, the idea of the cinnamon-roll tree is inspired and very unique. Great imagination!

cheers
Anj xx

OOOooooh, interesting! I love the fact that you fit narrator like quotes within the story. I like it! Freewrites always bring out the most interesting things!

Also, I’m here to deliver the prompt of the day! Freewrite #126

@byn

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74