Stetson: 5 minute freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago

Sitting here in the saddle, feet dangling through the stirrups I lifted the stetson a little higher on my head. Throwing my gaze out over the herds of cattle grazing on the plain below, the beauty of the moment struck me.

All those poor people living in cities, cramped into one bed apartments, stacked on top of each other. The nearest person to me was at best guess, 5 miles south at the farm.

The only noise was the occasional baying of a cow as it lifted its head from the grazing for one minute. Rather than the incessant noise of gridlocked traffic.

Those poor people glued to a computer screen instead of looking up into the clear blue sky overhead. Heated by air con rather than the hot suns rays.

"Truly this was a special place to live out your life" ,I thought to myself.

Then shouted at the top of my voice, attracting the eye of one particular cow as there was nobody else to hear. Who unconcerned by my interruption put its head back to the task at hand which involved filling its stomach.

Speaking of which, I turned my horse back towards the farmhouse and meandered towards my own dinner.

An entry to the 5 minute freewrite by @marriannewest, promp stetson. All votes, comments, critiques welcome. Leave a comment and let me know.

Sort:  

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 1.66% vote... I was summoned by @niallon11! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

I’m impressed that your free write came out with such form/pattern.

Funny how the speaker is so far away from the City yet still so stuck in it.

Thanks. I was trying to get the contrast in as i have lived in both and felt the same. With five minutes it's tough to get anything across without being direct to the point

Nice piece of writing!

I'm standing in for Marianne today with the link to the latest prompt
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-83-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-nose-ring

Thanks for the help.

I could feel the freedom of being out there! Well done. It is special to be able to scream at the top of your lungs without attracting attention (cow doesn't count lol)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61586.28
ETH 2569.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55