Round is a shape: 5 minute freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago

I read the prompt and straight away my mind, as it always does, starts running tangents of different ideas.
First idea that the prompt puts into the head would be body image. As soon as i hear round shape, i think of larger people.

To be fair, I love watching weight loss shows and health shows so that would be in my head anyway. It was one way of going, especially in these modern times where image counts for so much. There is more pressure than ever to have the right clothes, the right body and the right lifestyle. So while round is a shape, its almost frowned upon at this stage.

Then I though a bit harder, looked a bit deeper into it.
We have a saying at home that you can't fit square pegs into a round hole. What this translates to is that you can't think of everybody the same way. We all look different, act different and think differently. (Especially at home where people are known to be a bit crazy.)

I think that people should be able to feel comfortable with who they are. We are all made differently and there is nothing that we can do about it. Now is it good to try and gain a better quality of life and form healthier habits, absolutely! But is it necessary to all fit in the one mold, of course not. Round is a shape too. Just like square and triangle and all serve different purposes.

Where do we end up with all that? Nowhere really. Just my head working in its usual round way.

An entry to the 5 minute freewrite by @mariannewest, promp "round is a shape.". All votes, comments, critiques welcome. Leave a comment and let me know.

Sort:  

Great #freewrite! I love how you went #streamofconciousness and dove into the different thoughts you came up with while thinking of the prompt =)

I thought today's prompt was pretty difficult! It'd be great if you checked out my post =) let me know your thoughts in the comments


https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mkkenny13/dailyfreewritechallenge-day-98-round-is-a-shape

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by niallon11 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I agree, we should try to be accepting of ourselves and only strive to change what we want to. Great freewrite and I love your choice of image!

Today I'm riding along in a 1954 Bentley R-Type Continental being driven by a very stylish skeleton detective. He's helping me travel through the town of Freewrite to deliver Marianne's prompt to you.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-99-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-sunset

I love that your head is working in a real round way!! lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68148.22
ETH 3249.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67