Day 122: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: Spa

in #freewrite6 years ago

Logopit_1518971238067.jpg

SPA

Many spas are spreading in the Philippines. They offer many different foreign massages and relaxing treats to Filipinos.

But the existence of these spas are threats to the traditional massage of the Filipinos called "Hilot".

When I was a kid, and playful, I used to have fractures. Then, that would develop to getting coughs and then to fever.

So, my protective parents would immediately bring me to Nanay Bering, who was very good in hilot.

I really dont know about the science of it but, I really felt good after a hilot.

Now that I am a professional and working, going to a spa for a massage is easy.

Sort:  

Interesting, I had never heard of a "Hilot" before. What I got from your freewrite though is that it is not just here in the United States where globalism is threatening to end traditions. In some ways, I think that we humans should be more accepting of change. But then I also wonder if we allow change to happen too fast sometimes and end up losing certain truths or philosophies that was part of a tradition earned from years of experience. In other words, we might lose something important that can not easily be regained. 🤔

I totally agree... Everything is changing abruptly. Some of there are incontrollable. My fear of that is the new generation, our children, would not experience traditional practices and all.

I'm glad that you're knowing the techniques performed by our ancestors as well and you're welcoming the change . But what amazed me is that the physical fracture you got induced some diseases like cough and cold . It's a rare connectivity and thanks for sharing your write :)

I dont know about it really. Hahaha. Thanks for dropping by anyway.

well, call it change! And how it apparently takes the place of what we knew before! But what choice have we?

You here go personal @christianyocte. Thanks for sharing.

Meanwhile, i am #freewrite's encourager for today, here with @marriannewest's special delivery for today: the prompt. Here is the link.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-123-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-fumigate

Give us another of your obviously great experiences

The choice is still up to us. We can opt to give in to the changes which is not wrong. We can also keep the tradition which is also not wrong.

Thank you for including the link here. I will make time to do the freewrite during my freetime. :)

Fair enough, we'll keep our hands crossed in wait. Glad.

Thank you very much!

Hmm. Makes me wonder what a Hilot massage is....

It's painful and relaxing at the same time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79