Overcoming grief - Freewrite prompt “ Grief “

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Growing up knowing my late mum was suffering with stage 4 breast cancer was the most devastating time of my life. As a lil girl who was trying to live a normal life but so many questions being ask day in and day out. So many relatives had to continually remind me that grief is normal. To grieve is part and parcel of life.

On 12th January 2007, my one and only mum in this world gone home to be with the Lord. It was at that point where I just couldn’t be myself. I have lost something so dear to my heart , so close to my hear that even my tears couldn’t come out. I couldn’t cry like how every other family members did. I couldn’t put myself together or even put into the words the amount of pain and fear i felt during that whole 3 days of the wake.

Fast forward 3 years later, I still couldn’t figure out why of all people , someone who loves the Lord, someone who does things without complaining , someone who goes the extra mile have to die. Why?! Why??! Why???!

Fast forward another 2 years, I become more mature in my thinking and told myself. Enough is enough. Jesus died on the cross and overcame
death! I told myself that I choose to look on the bright side and began tell grief get lost! You have no hold in my life.

I should be celebrating and rejoicing that mum is in heaven dancing with the Lord. It was through Jesus and being reminded constantly that “ I can overcome grief , and it has no place in my life “

9A515589-E1BB-4A85-B0B7-8B50BC3A14F7.jpeg

To those, who has lost someone in their lives. Stay Focus + Stay Strong!

Sort:  

I suppose as we get older we realise that loss is part of life, but so hard on a young child losing your mother.

It’s your friendly neighbourhood prompt delivery team here with the challenge for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-300-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-towel

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Life has many things to teach a person, and grief is one of them.
But it is what after all these adversity what you have become is the most important gift God can give you.

Today I just heard from an excerpt of a sermon saying,
"pastor, why are there suffering in this world?"

And his simple and straight at your face blunt answer was:

Because this is not heaven.

 
Although it is not fair that your mom's journey was cut short on our point of view; but know that she has fast forwarded to our ultimate destination and out raced all of us simply because her task is completed.

Even though the method to get there was tarnished with cancer, nevertheless as you have said,

she's dancing with the Lord

So rejoice, for we are just sojourners (passer by) on this earth towards the eternal destination, just like it is written in Hebrews 11:13, and we know that nothing we hold dear too much that we can see and touch lives forever... except One.

upvoted

Congratulations @chloephuan93! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You just planted 0.12 tree(s)!


Thanks to @littlenewthings

We have planted already 3235.19 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 19503.32
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65775.18
ETH 2600.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68