5 Minute Freewrite - It Always Ends up as Slush

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

Day 54 of #freewrite

Introduction to freewriting by @mariannewest


Prompt: rain

Today we had a nice rain, well snowing but in my native language we say 'snow rain'. Though the beautiful winter mantle won't be permanent because the temperature just won't stay below 0 degrees here in the Southern Finland. So we have a plenty of slush. "Yay." Though some people seem to enjoy it; I remember reading about a news of Chinese tourists in Finland being like: "Yo, this slush is so exotic and stuff.." I mean be my guest to paddle in the slush but I think every Finn agrees that they would rather prefer either completely dry or pure snow, and none of that slush on our shoes.

At least I will have a guaranteed white snow this year when I will go to my relatives for the Christmas to Eastern Finland!

Sort:  

While driving through Colorado one time we were pelted with slush balls instead of snow, or hail. These huge snowcone size balls of slush were just splatting all around us and slamming into our windshield. That was a little freakish, but it was last year or the year before that I was watching the weather news on television and a reporter got caught in a similar situation, so I guess it happens but is rare. ☃️

Luckily your case was slush balls and not hail because if I'm not wrong people have died in China because of hailstorms 😬

Absolutely, my wife and I thought about that very thing at the time! Had it been hail it would have come right through the windshield, that would have been very bad and very scary. 😦

Haha! I kind of wrote about the same thing today. We are visiting my husband's parents in Massachusetts and today it is rainy making the snow turn to slush!!

Yeah I read it. At least you don't have to see it again when you get back home, am I right?

You are right! No snow and slush in Florida, although we do occasionally get snow flurries and a hard frost where we live!

HA! slush is worse than either snow or nothing! you are so right there!

At least the Chinese tourists enjoy it, lol

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You mean you have slush all winter? I always thought it is so cold in Finland!

Nah, it's just the starting of winter in the Southern Finland where it's not guaranteed to have a white Christmas. By January it's still like a regular winter usually. Though surprisingly the temperature stayed below 0 so we have like 10 cm of snow, but in North and Eastern-Finland there's already half a meter of snow.

So don't worry; it's still cold out here.

hahaha - I am only worried that it is too cold :) But I am happy for you that it is a white wonderland for you - slush is annoying, that is for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50