You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freewrite Favorites, Volume #39!

in #freewrite5 years ago

I love it too! And the graphic with the story boxed in is a cool feature, but seeing a reader's words fram that story is cooler yet. Thank you so much for that @owasco (the nomination, the comments!)! And (sorry to repeat this from the previous post for nominating freewrites), yes, I grew up on a farm, where we ate the chickens and cows and pigs we had named. I knew a woman who raised sheep and she said, "I'd almost rather eat a person I didn't know than eat one of my sheep."

We had another rooster named Weirdo who came to us from a high school science teacher who tested hatching time of eggs when radiation was used, and we volunteered to take the hatchlings. Most were normal enough, but we wondered if Weirdo had been "radiated" and mutated. He had a crooked neck. He was so friendly, we let him in the house more than once. Not a normal rooster!

Sort:  

You are teeming with great stories!
No way I could eat anything I have named.
I once had a hen I couldn't turn my back on and was not sad the day she keeled over dead, but no roosters are allowed in this burb. Having a nasty rooster would ruin my experience of my sweet ladies. I need to be able to walk freely among them as they clean up and nourish my garden.

Lovely image - you "walk freely among them" in the garden, you and your "ladies." My husband's bachelor cousin Keith (now past age 60) is a dairy farmer, and he refer to the herd as "my girls." And, yeah, I mail him a Valentine every year, because nobody else does. Bachelors and widows, spinsters and loners - now I just need to make my own valentine cards because roosters and Holsteins are hard to find. Thanks for reading and commenting, @owasco!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39