You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 330: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: You walk through a door - what do you see?

in #freewrite6 years ago

Interesting questions you raise, Kimberly, and I love the photo you chose!
My mom's generation takes "til death us do part" very seriously, but women who "submit" tend to forget the part where husbands are to treasure, honor, love, and care for their wives (Mom married at age 18 in 1955, which was the norm). Yes, she took a vow, for better or worse, but he took a vow too, and when "worse" turns into "abusive," it's time to re-examine this notion of accepting one's lot in life.

Sort:  

Yes, I entirely agree and have walked away from such a vow myself.
Interesting and intersecting and complex questions that I run through my own psyche. I know I'm younger than our mothers' generation, but grew up in a community/environment in which the vows were norm.
Thanks for stopping by to read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66704.41
ETH 3487.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.99