Double Time - Day 483: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: double time

in #freewrite6 years ago


source: Rudolf Kirchner

Time Warped

whenever Lionel was in the picture. "Let's jam tomorrow," he'd texted me. I pretended not to see the message. So he called me, and I couldn't say no. I didn't dare to believe he'd be there at The Music Lab, knew better than to hope for something as magical as Lionel being where he said he would be.

My heart beat double-time when I got off the Brown Line and caught sight of him a block away, a tall silhouette of a man wheeling an upright bass down the sidewalk, in a case the size of a coffin. In Chicago he got a lot of jokes about who or what he really had inside that case. As he came into view the sun came out of the clouds, I kid you not, and lit him up like a torch. His easy gait, his ready smile, his twinkling eyes came closer while I just stood there like a fire hydrant waiting for someone to turn the faucet on and douse the flames.

He came. He was on time. He had called me here, and we stood together outside the studio door, ready to jam.

Lionel was here, where he said he would be, on time, and he was smiling at me.

Surely the planets would re-align for such a cataclysmic event.

"Aliiiiiicia," he said.

I just smiled, wondering if he could take the sound of an exploding heart and work it into his next composition.


Day 483: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: double time

In jazz *double-time" refers to note values used twice as fast as previously but without changing the pace of the chord progressions. It is often used during improvised solos.


This is a sequel to "But Never Jam Today" - Day 473: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: jam tomorrow

source

Check Out The @FreeWriteHouse Prompt Of The Day By @MarianneWest

Sort:  

Awesome as usual. Even my heart is beating a little faster.

Thank you @owasco and than you @botefarm!

Yeah, some DJ can work that into composition.

Am here to deliver the weekend freewrite prompt.

Going single with this.
...
https://partiko.app/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-2-16-2019-single-prompt-option
....
...
You wanna try the pro version?
...
https://partiko.app/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-2-16-2019-part-1-the-first-sentence
...
...
Do have a lovely and a nice weekend.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60030.46
ETH 2413.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43