You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Coffee Shop | Lola's Story Part 20 | 5 Minute freewrite ~ Prompts: a ridiculous amount of fun and bamboo

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

How? How do you work these prompts in so seamlessly? I always take note of the prompt before I begin to read and wonder how I might work it in. This one looked tough, but you have such a knack for weaving them into your stories.

Also, my chest feels so heavy with Lola's emotion. You nailed it, being on the edge of grief. Knowing there is a point where you wonder if the hurt will ever dissapate and capturing that one moment, or person, who can pull you out from the darkness.

Bryon makes me both happy and nervous. I do enjoy his boisterous personality though. It makes you feel like the story is about to switch gears and Lola will find peace and happiness again. -Aimee

Ps. Thanks for feeding my addiction.

PPS. Sorry for my rambling responses. I have never been able to talk to an author directly before. Sorta makes me feel like I should be in a book club or something. Ha ha ha! We should totally have a book club in your comments section!

Sort:  

Haha once again, your comment has blown me away! Thank you so much!

I'm so excited that you take note of the prompts...I always wonder if anyone does! For these two, it wasn't as hard. I knew since Friday that Bryon was going to say the first one, but I didn't know it would come out like that. In one scenario that popped in my mind, he told her to have fun and she got mad and yelled. But as I was writing, I had this overwhelming feeling that he had suffered a huge loss as well, maybe it was because he had recognized her "sorrow" before. Bamboo was much easier because I pictured it immediately on a table at the shop, but it reminded me of the plants I had let die, so I thought maybe that might have been her experience too haha. It probably sounds weird when I say "mights" and "coulds", but so many times I will think about the story all day, and when I sit down to write, it comes out so differently.

PPS. Sorry for my rambling responses. I have never been able to talk to an author directly before. Sorta makes me feel like I should be in a book club or something. Ha ha ha! We should totally have a book club in your comments section!

This made me smile from ear to ear! If you started a book club on the comments...I don't even know what to say...I would just be so honored!

I love the might of and coulda and knowing that it unravelled differently. It probably makes story writing exciting for you too because it's not being forced, it's just building itself and taking you along for the ride too. 😊

I have never been a part of a book club before but I just googled how to have an online book club and I might give it a shot. You obviously have lots of readers, I am curious what they're thinking too. -Aimee

Yes! It is taking me along for the ride!

Haha I love that you googled it! I have no idea how to have one either. How would you organize it?

Well, one thing that's different about a book club is that they line up multiple things to read but we can make this whatever we want. The second part of the book club is to have questions that prompt discussions. I am thinking maybe we (or I) come up with a 2 or 3 questions and just post them in the comments to spur some extra conversation. What do you think? - Aimee

I like it! Maybe tag a couple of the commenters to their attention? How much should I be involved? This is so exciting! Haha

Tagging people is a good idea to get the ball rolling. I think you can be as involved as you want to be. If there is something you want to know from us you can always pose a question too. Do you think it's too late to start on this one? Are you on discord? Maybe you can give me a heads up before you post the next part so I can think of questions and comment right away. Do you think we will influence the story too much? If so, we can stop at any time. -A

That's a good idea. Sometimes...like with Bryon for example...I was curious how everyone felt, if he was coming off the way I hoped. I am on discord so I can give you a headsup! And...I'm thinking we should wait for the next part because I'm hoping to get the next one out tomorrow.

Hey! I went ahead and sent you a dm...I hope it's you haha I thought it would be good to find ya first.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.90
ETH 2348.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36