Sort:  

Hi byn,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you So much!!!

I remember why I always hated watching serials on TV - because they always end when something interesting is going on.
The same thing happened with your story but somehow I'm not bothered of that but more likely very curious to see what is going to happen next and what is going on with Karen. It's terrible to remember nothing when something weird is going on with your body but it's also important to stay calm (or at least try) and see if you can remember something or find a clue.
I like that you give so many details because that makes me feel more the story of through what passes Karen.
Can't wait for the next part :)

My husband and I talk about the 'old days' when we had to wait a week between shows (or god forbid the summer hiatus!) and how awful it was to wait!

I have tried to post the next part, but steemit isn't letting me for some reason. I might end up having to post two parts tomorrow if it doesn't start to cooperate!

I'm glad you enjoyed it, even if I did leave you hanging!

Hi @byn, I found you through curie - they are having a contest that pays out if you make thoughtful comments on the posts they support. I am not really familiar with them, so I was not sure what to expect.

You have my real life horror story right at the beginning: "scrape the delicate skin of her eyes to shreds" <<< This is something I actually have to be careful not to do. With RA, if I start digging at my eyes, I do look like everyone's nightmare!

Then the rest of your story goes on the be even more scary. It seriously tells the thoughts of a lot of RA sufferers and could almost be a post I find in one of my support groups. I think you must have an external villain coming though, and I will be glad to find out what happens next.

I was wondering how you managed all this is 5 minutes, but then I saw you did two prompts. I may follow your lead on this idea. Five minutes is so often not enough.

Big congrats for the curie vote - you deserve it :)

Oh no! That sounds awesome!! I sometimes go over five minutes, although I try not to. There are times when the story takes over and I just can't stop writing until I know what happens! This just happened to take two prompts because I forgot to look the day before and missed one! Thanks for the awesome comment.

howdy @byn! wow. yay! another horrifying mystery, goodie! you are so good at describing feelings that it's a wonder that anyone can write a comment! body feels like lead for some reason! lol. brilliant job, love it.

Thank you kind sir! You're awesome as always.

yeah I know. someone has to be around here. lol. hey do you ever read meester boom?

Is that a steemian or an author somewhere else???

howdy today Byn! yes he is a rep73, prolific writer that tells crazy stories every single day, he;s from England and has such an entertaining way of writing, every Thursday he goes into a character called Uncle Boom and it's usually hilarious. as a writer you should get a kick out of him, I would study the way he describes things if I were to try and be a better writer.

He's wild and nuts basically! you'll love it! let me know what you think. his username is meesterboom.

Thanks for the recommendation! I haven't heard of him before. It sounds really entertaining!

you'll love his writing style I think but either way let me know.

He's hilarious! Thanks for sharing :)

Hey, @byn.

Very well done on the story, and the volume of it. I've never been able to do so much per prompt. It's good, though, because you need all of it to describe what's happening to Karen.

I definitely want to know what happens, so you're doing a great job of keeping the reader in suspense. Just enough horror to not overwhelm, but my brain is already working on worst case scenarios, which is what you wanted, too. So, good on you for that.

Hopefully, tomorrow's prompt won't be something like Creme Brulee or something. :)

My husband calls my writing style 'verbal vomit' because I just tend to sit down and type like crazy, without even thinking about it much. It's like I'm discovering the story as it appears before me on the screen. My typing speed has increased a lot since I started doing these freewrites back in November, for sure!

Lol, Marianne has definitely thrown me for a loop when I do continued stories like this. I end up having to be REALLY creative!

I might try a week's worth of an extended story. I liked the weekend freewrite (mainly because it gave me more time).

re: verbal vomit

I've written like that, too, and I've written where every sentence is a struggle. With the freewrite, you tend more to the former, just because there's no time to over think it.

Well, maybe if I give it time, my typing will increase, too. I think some of it is ergonomics, so I probably should just go ahead and get that new adjustable desk with chair I've been eyeing for months. Might help my wrists and shoulders too.

Hey, an ergonomic chair and desk is always a good idea!

I like writing the extended stories, but they do tend to fall off on views after a little bit because people don't want to have to catch up with the story. That's a big reason why I'm working on writing books outside of steemit. I have too many long stories percolating in my brain thanks to all the awesome freewriting inspiration!

That's cool that the freewrites are inspiring you with the longer form writing.

I guess that's true about the extended stories. I serialized a WIP here and I'm pretty sure no one followed it from beginning to end. It was a nice experiment to do, though, to see what kind of support might be available. Also, I'm sure things change the more your work gets out there, which would include any success outside of Steemit. So, go for it. :)

Oh my! I could feel the panic and anguish rising in my body, You have quite a way with words. Please say you will be writing more for it left me wanting so bad to know what was happening!

I shall finish this story over the next day or so. I've tried posting part two already, but steemit is being glitchy for me. I don't quite understand why I can reply to comments, but it won't let me post!

Holy smokes! Congrats on your creation! She's becoming something else, clearly. But what will it be like to be the new thing she'll be? Will she still get to feel that heartbeat? Shudder.

I DON'T KNOW WHAT'S HAPPENING YET! It's driving me batty. I feel like I need an entire weekend freewrite for the rest of this story, but it's only Tuesday. :(

Well, there's nothing to say you can't write when it's not a freewrite ;P

What??? I'm not sure that's true. @mariannewest might come after me! :)

Oh I am sure Marianne would make an exception for you Byn! Or at least for this disturbing story ;p

Your writting is so good! This is my absolute nightmare waking up and not knowing where im and not been able to move!!!!I can feel Karen's panic you are so good at setting up the atmosphere and describing the feelings.

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I seem to get into the horrifying stories at times and I'm never sure how I'm going to get myself out of it.

Ooo I really really like this and I can't wait for the next part!

Thank you! As soon as I can get my post to actually submit, I'll have part two up!

This is awesome writing @byn. The tension was palpable and I found my stomach tightening up as I read. I love the visceral physical nature of your descriptive passages and imagery. Shivers up the spine time ;-)

Thank you so much. Your comment is pretty descriptive as well! I'm glad you liked it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28