You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's in a cover? NaNoWriMo Success Planning

in #freewrite6 years ago

Hey! I do that, too! I made up a cover for mine and I do find it very inspiring to visualize it as a finished product! (Even though at the same time, I also know this won't be the final cover, I do enjoy the graphic design side of creativity as well!)

Sometimes when I'm feeling blocked with writing, I will go work on graphics for marketing the future book as well. Regardless of what I end up with, I find it incredibly relaxing!!

This is the 'cover' I made for my NaNoWriMo story.
tiny-365.png

I wish you the best and thank you SO much for putting this challenge out there. I was feeling REALLY hesitant to try it this year for some reason, but your challenge finally got me over the hump.

Sort:  

Thanks for the kind words @byn! I really know nothing about graphics worth knowing, but I love to do it anyway (a graphic design course is on my bucket list one of these days).

I love your cover too. I'm terrified looking at it yet curious too...

And this is @freewritehouse's challenge. I'm just helping out. so glad you decided to join us!

I've just learned over the years of finding free programs and working my way through them. Youtube tutorials and the like. It's mostly just something that I enjoy. Much less messy than things like painting :)

Same here. I just google what I want to do and find a video. If I put it all together I might actually know something, but I usually forget if I don't do it all the time.

I find painting is very cathartic, though I don't do it. It's messy as you noted, and I'm never happy with what I do - it always look like a three year old tried to paint what I was describing. The connection between my brain and my hands is well-tuned for writing, but for painting they might as well belong to different people!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62460.04
ETH 2435.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65