5 MINUTE FREEWRITE - DAY 182 - RED WINE

in #freewrite6 years ago


The first thing I think about when I think about red wine is the song by UB40. I have always loved that song and don't know anything else by the band beyond that. Were hey a one hit wonder? I have no idea. They may have been huge. I only know that song and what it means. It's about escaping your problems with alcohol. That never seems to me like it is a good idea. You drink and forget but the problems are still there after the drunk and now you have to deal with them with a hangover. Lose lose. Best to just tackle your problems and find resolution. Use the alcohol to celebrate victories not to hide from obstacles. If that were the way things were done it would wipe out alcoholism since there are more losses than wins in this life. Do you think the song promotes alcoholism? I don't think I ever thought about it that much. I just like the laid back rhythm of it. My dad used to listen to it a lot and I guess it just grew on me. Either that or it just is a really great song. Either way it's a fav of mine.

Sort:  

I agree totally with what you say here:

I only know that song and what it means. It's about escaping your problems with alcohol. That never seems to me like it is a good idea. You drink and forget but the problems are still there after the drunk and now you have to deal with them with a hangover. Lose lose.

This the story of my life over the last 3 years as hongovers now last 4 days for me! Yep, that's right 4 fckn days ;-) Makes planning a night out a big event as I have to think about if there is anything important I need to do for a week after the drinks with friends lol

Good freewrite @bringitback :-)

That's the first thing I thought of when I saw the prompt as well! They had another hit, "Falling in Love" that was really good. I love your point and agree that alcohol should be used to celebrate victories.

We're happy to have our very own town of Freewrite Toe Wrestling team, The Rowdy Digits, deliver the prompts to you today! These sassy ladies have been undefeated this season and are ready to make more competitors cry like they've just stubbed their toes on a coffee table!

Freewrite Day 183 - dude

Keep up to date with everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59