The Mango Head : Day 284: 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

bully-655659__480.jpg
source

I've been a victim of bullying before, it's not a good tale to tell, kids who passed through this stage also have a bitter taste of it, I don't know why kids do this to others, the fact is, many of them are innocent of this things, they thought they are having fun, a fun at the detriment of the other person? That's no fun.

Bullying is the use of force, threat, or coercion to abuse, intimidate or aggressively dominate others.
source

Am glad the period was short, just one and a half years, for kids who lived through that for many years, only God will wipe away the hurt and the dark memories.

I could remember going back home one day, a kid bigger than his mate was bullying his classmate, the guy hasn't offend him from the little I've heard, it was the victim's head that betrayed him into the hand of his enemy.
"mango head, you're useless both in school and home"
The victim bowed his head down in sorrow. No one both in front or behind could help out, not even me. I think that correlate with some fact that Bystanders of bullying tend to succumb to what they believe is peer pressure to support bullying behavior and fear of becoming the victim.

It's wrong for a kid to abuse his fellow mates because of skin colour, body shape, tribe, or anything. Some teachers aren't helping either, some mistook it for a simple disagreement between kids. So they play blind to the game, while the victim suffer.

Whenever I remember what could have happened to that poor mango head kid, I use to be ashamed of myself, some of his self esteem is been drained as he's bullied. I swore never to see another before my eyes again.

So help me God.

Inviting you all to join us at @mariannewest blog for a freewrite challenge.

QmVpU1DEDeAhYQMch6azkeSYMSXf8SvsXQVbK98QqHmzQw.gif

  • Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him here and type in "steemgigs" in the first search box.
  • If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, on that same page type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.
  • Support his other brainchild projects like #untalented, #steemgigs, #teardrops, #steemsecrets and #ulogs.

Thank You.

Sort:  

I have no idea how you could interpret the prompt:mango to "bully"
but I guess it is not important. The key is to start the 5 minutes freewrite. The prompt is only the source of writing inspiration

I am not sure whether the bully is a true story (above) when you were a kid. But I do share with you it is not fun to be bullied whether in school and in your neighborhood.
I guess most kids go thru similar childhood day. For me, I do have a fair share to be bullied in school as well as in my neighborhood. When I was a kid, I live in a small town. In most towns, there are kids and teens live around your neighborhood and when you try to play with them, the bigger boys tends to show off and started to take advantage of you. And they do it very often and to a certain extend, it become a bully.
And during my secondary school days when I live in a hostel, The seniors plan for a "ragging" time as a traditional welcome ceremony. It looks like all new students have to go thru this "bully" because some has a hard time from seniors during this ceremony

Anyway, those were the days when you have to learn and grow with it

Cheers

The prompt is just a word, a word that takes you anywhere, it'll be boring if everyone write on mango as a fruit, that's not the idea behind freewrite, it's to follow anywhere the prompt takes you. OK?.
The story is as real as you reading this right now.

I guess you got the point
Cheers

Maybe it is not just the target who suffers at the hand of the bully. Could be all exposed to the incident are effected. Just think about how the word mango brings back the memory for you.
That bully probably has a pretty sad life if he is going around causing so much distress in others.

That's the funny part, to the bully, he's catching fun. Though at the expense of his victim.

Such a cruel pack mentality. I was bullied by mean girls as a young woman. I learned later in life to project more confidence and thwart such ignorance. Children are at times the least tolerant of differences or apparent weaknesses and it's a shame to a culture.

i've never experienced bullying , but i know i hate bullies , weareall equal , so there shoudn't be someone trying to discriminate somebody else.

I was mercilessly bullied at school and even had my hair cut off in the school bus.
Kids can be so cruel.

It’s the Wednesday prompt delivery team here with your challenge for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-286-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-pitiful

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Bullying is awful and it is so very sad that few to stand up to it.
On the other hand, the danger of becoming the next victim is real if it is only one person who is stopping - or trying to stop - this kind of behavior. When all say it is not okay - we can change.

Bullying is really not good. It creates an environment of fear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60291.00
ETH 2583.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55