Saved By Fever : Day 323: 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago
Bound by the oath to serve my fatherland, I've always each and every time been dreaming of the day I'll join the Nigerian Air Force, it will surely be the most glorious day of my life. Twenty-six you down the line, am now a decorated commandant in the air. Dreams do come true you know.


Source

Then came the civil war, pillaging the country and segregating it the more into ethnic and religious faction, it all started by an hatred speech, it's now a civil war, no one knows this is where we will all be by now.

The scourge of war was starting to take a toll on the Air Force, though there are glitches here and there with several underfunding. I can't but say we still managed to keep the air space safe.

Then the mysterious letter from my superior commander came in one day, asking me to fly solo over an undisclosed location and capture pictures of the area, but I was too weak for the operation, the doctor has diagnosed me with fever 🤒, running high temperature everywhere, the mission was given to another person, my best friend who counts it as an honour to fly such a mission cos at that point in time, every action taken could earn you some national honour.

Woke up the next day to see the plane am supposed to fly solo burn into ashes as its shot down my enemy surface to air missiles. The fever saved me.

My entry into @mariannewest everyday #freewrite .

Sort:  

Congratulations @botefarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I am very sorry your friend was lost, but glad that you were spared.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43