Day412 : 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: boxer (entry by @blueeyes8960)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

20181201_122549.jpg
my original photo

Come join us here for today's 5 Minute Freewrite sponsored by @mariannewest! https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day412-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-boxer

Man's Best Friend

I’m lying here on my favorite pillows waiting for my human to come home. I know he doesn’t want me up on the furniture, but I’ll know as soon as he pulls in the driveway, plenty of time to get down and lie on the rug. I hear a truck rumble up the drive, but it’s not my human’s, not the mailman’s, not any of the other human’s I have met. I better investigate.

I hear footsteps on the porch and a light tapping on the door. The hair bristles up on the back of my neck, something is wrong, this human on the other side of the door doesn’t smell right. I back up, crouching down, and keep my eyes on the door knob slowly turning. I send out a low growl to warn this stranger that I am here, ready to protect my home. On full alert now, my keen ears pick up an exhale of breath and now I catch a wafting odor of fear. To drive my point home I let loose with some serious man killer barking! The knob stops turning and footsteps recede down the porch steps.

I feel a warm flush of pride at having defended the house, and hop back up on the sofa to continue my nap and wait for my human. I wish I could tell him about what I did, but he only understands the most rudimentary parts of my language. I can hear his thoughts as plain as day, but try as I might, he just doesn’t understand mine. The only things I’ve been able to teach him are “feed me”, “let me outside”, “take me for a ride”, and “I love you!”

There are other things I’d like to be able to tell him, some that are really important to us both. Like, don’t smoke those white sticks, they are making both of us sick. Like, don’t get so angry and uptight when something happens. Deal with it and let it go, like I do. Like, don’t sit in your chair and eat so much while staring at that flickering picture box. We need to get outside and play more, have more fun. And,oh yeah, we need to get rid of the cat, she is not your friend!

signature_1.gif

Sort:  

Another great job, I liked hearing the story from the dogs point of view!

Congratulations! @blueeyes8960
This post has been selected for 7 Tag Curation Project| Friday (#freewrite)

The goal of this curation project is to give some support to those who make good and useful contents. We hope it will help people and encourage those content creator who want to spread knowledge and share his idea.

A loyal faithful dog indeed :) truly enjoyed reading this.


Also, I am here to deliver the next prompt to you, here it is, check it out! It is vase.

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86