The Strangeling Part V - (Freewrite #132 - the attic)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Greetings fellow Steemians! Here is my eighth 5 minute* freewrite. The prompt is "the attic".

*Not 5 minute this time, 30 minute ;)

This piece is a continuation of yesterday's freewrite, and the third installment in an ongoing story. Let's see how long I can keep this up, using the prompts provided!

Part I: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@bennettitalia/freewrite-129-fingernail

Part II: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@bennettitalia/the-strangeling-part-ii-freewrite-130-wasps

Part III: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@bennettitalia/the-strangeling-part-iii-freewrite-131-solitude

Part IV: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@bennettitalia/the-strangeling-part-iv-freewrite-132-gardening

Freewriting is a daily practice for most poets and fiction writers, designed to loosen up and get things flowing, like stretching before exercise. Visual artists, especially those who draw or paint from life (figures, landscapes, still lives, etc) do something similar in "gesture drawings". After reading several of @poetrybyjeremy's freewrite posts, I got excited to try these again. Many thanks to @mariannewest for hosting this daily freewrite! https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-132-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-gardening


https://pixabay.com/en/medium-psychic-female-fantasy-woman-goth-1726601/

The wasps fell back as I walked briskly to one of the undergrounds and down the steps, but I could still feel them behind me, keeping pace from a distance. My senses reached out to the world around me, embraced it, spread to encompass everything within the concrete walls of the station, scanning everything within reach. I had to be careful to raise the thresholds to the proper level, so that I wouldn't be distracted by every little object, every movement, the scrabble of a rat, the quivering antennae of a cockroach, air blasting through ventilation ducts. Even people - there were too many to keep track of all at once. The thresholds had to be raised above the level of "normal" human behavior, so that my modded senses only picked up unusual behavior, anything that might be a threat. Luckily, I had the implant to set thresholds for me. That was what it was there for. Or so they had told me when they put it in. And they hadn't been lying: it was true that I couldn't control my mods the way I needed to without it. But it also did... other things. Things they hadn't told me about.

I took the stairs two at a time at the other end, eager to see daylight again, eager to find out what I would be dealing with. I had been going over various possible scenarios and courses of action, but I knew I was far from prepared for any eventuality. It was likely that I'd have to wing it.

She was right where I thought she would be, sitting with her back to the giant, ancient oak tree, eyes closed, ignoring the perfectly serviceable bench just a few feet away.

Her eyes opened as I approached. They were strange eyes, like the wasps', only instead of being veiled by a subtle film, they were more transparent than the usual, like still water, or glass. If you looked closely enough, if you could get close enough to look, you would see that her pupils were striated with threads of light silvery grey, but otherwise clear. It gave one the impression of being able to see into the darkness inside of her head.

I stopped. We looked at each other for a minute. A tear slipped out of the corner of her left eye, lingered for a moment, then began a slow, hesitant descent along the curve of her cheek.

"I know who you are" she said. Her voice, always soft, nevertheless reached right through your flesh into your nerves, made you feel things. I wondered for the thousandth time what kind of effect it would have if she yelled.

It was difficult to keep my composure around her, even with the thresholds set all the way up.

Her eyes moved back and forth, scanning my features, trying to read me in the normal human way, since she couldn't read me in her own. "I'm not going back to the attic".

©2018 Bennett Italia

IOW COLOR MAP.png

Sort:  

Great story!!

You have worked very hard today and now it's time to relax your mind while doing today's 5-minute Freewrite prompt! Prompt: Plaid

You got a 2.68% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @bennettitalia!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

But can she read him at all?

! I was going to write something that would have answered that question... but saved it for the next installment (coming tonight, with the introduction of a street gang connected to an organized crime syndicate called "The Plaids"). but I'll give you a preview: she can read him, but not very well at all. She's used to relying on her usual senses, which are painfully empathic, to the degree that she can just about read a person's thoughts by tracking their emotional markers. But of course all of that explication can't go into the writing. We'll see if I can find a way to get it across without too much explanatory language ;)

What's the attic??! And in that one tear drop...I was on her side...haha

The Attic is what they call the building where they "make" The Strangelings. It's also called "The Annex". The main building, where Chameleons and Wasps are made, is called The Basement. At first I wasn't capitalizing these, but now I am, to indicate that it's referring to a specific place, and not just somebody's attic.

Yeah, that one tear drop got me too. I've only just started writing fiction and I'm surprised by how true it is for me that the characters seem to write themselves. Do you find that as well? That they reveal themselves to you as you go along, and you're sometimes surprised by what they do?

Yes! This has also been one of the first times I've written fiction, and as I'm going it's like they set the mood...and they create a depth I wasn't expecting. I feel like the freewrites have helped really bring that to life for me. If I'm writing in my head about Lola, say at the store or while I'm cooking, I think I know what's going to happen. Then I start writing and I turn my brain off and the characters flood in and write it for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48