Sleep - a stream of consciousness poem for Weekend Freewrite 3/31/2018 - sleep

in #freewrite6 years ago

Greetings fellow Steemians! Here is my 33rd 5 minute freewrite. The prompt is: "sleep".

(Full disclosure, this piece took me longer than 5 minutes to write. But it might be the closest one yet: only 7 minutes from start to finish!!!)

Freewriting is a daily practice for most poets and fiction writers, designed to loosen up and get things flowing, like stretching before exercise. Visual artists, especially those who draw or paint from life (figures, landscapes, still lives, etc) do something similar in "gesture drawings". After reading several of @poetrybyjeremy's freewrite posts, I got excited to try these again. Many thanks to @mariannewest for hosting this daily freewrite!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-160-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-tiger



https://pixabay.com/en/face-faces-dialogue-talk-psyche-3189811/

Sleep

Fighting it
Again
Against my better judgement
Locked in this life-and-death embrace
For longer than I can remember
As if we were sworn enemies
As if I'd been trained
From birth
To hate
As if my bed were a kidnapper's trunk
And no one to pay the ransom
And I might never wake
To pick up where I left off
Accomplish all that I've hoodwinked myself into believing
I might somehow find the time to do
As if life
Were too important
For dreams.


©2018 Bennett Italia All Rights Reserved

Horizontal rulers courtesy of @cryptosharon

IOW COLOR MAP.png

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Sort:  

This was beautifully written! There is a will to be awake, wanting to go on 24/7 and sleep seems like it is stealing away your time. It's interesting that you portray the 'sleeping' as 'time for dreams'. That gives it a much different feel to it rather than rest or energy. Dreams can also be interpreted in the 'goals' aspect, where if we constantly go on to work and do stuff, we might not have time to dream and aim for something more than we are achieving. Maybe at times we are counter productive to ourselves.

For real though, sleep is important! I try to sleep eight hours a day, and it helps my brain function at optimal level ;)

I know... I've actually been getting around 8 hours these days, thankfully. It was 4 or 5 there for a while!

Yes, the double meaning of "dreams" is key to the poem :) Thanks for the close reading and insightful comments J.

How is the sombre days doing? I need to pop over and see what you're up to!

Glad you're getting that sleep!

It depends how you would measure success. I'm proud of it and it has helped me emotionally and mentally, so it's priceless. On steemit, didn't really catch on haha, just tiny upvotes daily. Overall, 10 books sold, which might seem a little but for me that's a lot haha.

I think selling even one copy of an actual book, or even ebook these days is an accomplishment! :D

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Yes! I understand that battle & the feeling of being kidnapped, Sometimes I also fight sleep because I want to do other things, there are so few times that I can sit down and write and be my true self, the one that is not subject to Corporate America, and where my time is my own. Well done!

Thank you Janelle :) The struggle to find time for authenticity... yes, that seems to be a fairly common experience in this day and age. I feel so blessed to get to see that side of you here on Steemit!

You got a 2.41% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @bennettitalia!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Your Post Has Been Verified from @rihannas
Hi , @bennettitalia
Upvote our Post or Comments Chance to Win 0.1 to 100 SBD or STEEM Everyday.
Join Your Friends and Followers ..
More Service :
Want to promote and Restreem your posts ?
Check out Follow to @steemvoteron

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43