Impossible - a stream of consciousness poem for Freewrite # 189: cane

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Greetings fellow Steemians! Here is my 48th 5 minute freewrite. (Disclaimer: these usually take me more than 5 minutes to write). The prompt is "cane". Many thanks to @mariannewest for hosting this daily freewrite!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-189-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-cane



https://pixabay.com/en/sunflower-black-and-white-close-up-170961/

Impossible


Grandmother
I'd so love
To see you throw away that cane
And walk on your own two feet
But then I'm a lover of everything
Impossible.

How on Earth have the sunflowers in the basement
(Pale leaves
Petals
Seeds
Silent in the still air
A forest of ghosts
Turning broad faces
Toward the meager light
Of one tiny window)
Grown so fat
And so tall
On so little?

Behind boxes
Of junk too precious
To discard
Is a tiny door.
God only knows where it leads
But my sister went in once
And came back with pomegranates.

The foreigner is expected.
He walks into the room
The eyes of the people watching
Their ears
Waiting to hear what he'll say.
Instead
He unbuttons his shirt
And rips a hole
In the flesh of his chest
To show the muscle
Pumping
Behind its cage of bone.
The beat of it fills the room
Steady
Strong.
None of my blood is yours
He says

But all of my heart.


©2018 Bennett Italia, all rights reserved.

horizontal rulers courtesy of @cryptosharon

IOW COLOR MAP.png


Sort:  

Oh my, this left me speechless. What a beautiful and emotive poem!

He unbuttons his shirt
And rips a hole
In the flesh of his chest
To show the muscle
Pumping
Behind its cage of bone.

Thank you!

:) Oh thank you @wandrnrose7! Glad you liked it <3

I WILL POST YOUR BLOG POST TO MY 35,000+ FOLLOWERS. SEND 0.5 SBD OR 0.5 STEEM TO a-0-0 WITH YOUR BLOG POST WEB PAGE ADDRESS IN THE MEMO.

You got a 1.31% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @bennettitalia!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Another great write Bennet, I feel like I'm getting a sense of your poetic style now and I have to say its very engaging. Reminds me a little of Andrei Codrescu - check out his poem 'Against Meaning' if you get the chance, I think you'd dig it :)

The third section of this piece really grabbed me, its surreal and slightly teasing imagery just commands attention.

Hah! Thank you, spot on recommendation, I loved reading this.

"especially when I have to confirm
the obvious which always
sits on a little table and draws a lot
of attention to itself."

XD

Glad you enjoyed this piece. The pomegranate part was a last minute addition. I like that it leaves so much unsaid.

Fantastic! I've read this four times now and simply love this! tip!

Time for some Friday fun!
ezgif.com-resize (4).gif
GIF via giphy

Freewrite Day 190 - a ridiculous amount of fun

Keep up to date with everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in!

Sorry, the tip is higher then your deposit.
You can check your balance by sending 0.001 SBD to @tipu with memo: balance
(the minimal tip is 0.1 SBD)

Oh wow! Thank you @brisby :) And thanks for the tip!

Sorry, the tip is higher then your deposit.
You can check your balance by sending 0.001 SBD to @tipu with memo: balance
(the minimal tip is 0.1 SBD)

Intense and gripping, Bennett. Graphic and powerful imagery.

:) Glad you liked it Pryde!

Dang!!! You are so good!!!

bows in awe

lolo thank you @mariannewest! I return your bow <3

Oh, wow! The bit about the tiny door and pomegranates 😍

I follow you with pleasure!

Thank you @ sue-stevenson! And I you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60986.47
ETH 2413.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59