Sunday Freewrite: Belt

in #freewrite6 years ago

image
I remember the day seat belts would have killed me.
It was a beautiful weekend as far as football is concerned. Sometime at the start of the 2016/2017 season, Arsenal blitz Chelsea 3-0 and the day felt awesome.
I had spent the day with my two nephews and sister; one was a very active three year old that ran around a lot while the other was like 7 months old. He could sit up straight and use his hand to break stuff so I couldn't keep him and my bottle of beer on the same table. Against good judgement, my bottle of beer was kept on the floor.
The day went well, I was the bad uncle who took his baby nephews to a bar because of a football match and it was a bad idea. The older kid was all over the place and I spent more time watching over him than actually enjoying the game. I decided it was a failed move and took them and my sister back home during half time. They seemed to listen to/obey her more.
I usually drive with my seat belt on but on this faithful day I felt invincible after watching that amazing game of football and decided to "splurge" a little bit and not wear one today.
I drove into the mini estate setup with a parking lot slightly bigger than a fist and just as I was about to park, another car driven by a perceived deranged loony drove straight into the Lexus 300 I was driven; I instinctively jumped to the passengers seat and kept my head down. The car was wrecked and the seat I was just on got majority of the damage.
I ended up with no physical scratches on me, just a mental scar from the ordeal and till today, I always take off the seat belts whenever I'm about to park a car.

Sort:  

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.31$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

You got a 2.12% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @belemo!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

I am glad that you didn't get hurt!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58049.95
ETH 3128.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21