Thoughts from an window seat on an airplane

in #freewrite5 years ago
I've never liked flying on the window seat.

It's too uncomfortable even if I have more space when, like today, in sitting right next to the emergency exit. I'm not sure why but there's something I don't like about having two clumsy - sometimes more, depending on the size of the plane - blocking my way, I kind of feel like cornered (not to be confused with claustrophobic though).

image

In a practical situation this feeling means nothing. In case there's a real emergency, odds are we would all be dead before in able to even tell them move your lazy ass and let me through. Besides, where would I go? To the secret part of the plane where survivors of the movie hang out? Yeah, I didn't think so.

I guess it's more of a Psychological background but I'm not a psychologist to try and analize this situation. I did study a bit less than 3 semesters of psychology but I didn't have time to finish keep going, after all was in 7th semester and close to getting my Marketing degree and I was already working full time for Walmart in the are of strategic planning.

I'm giving out to much personal information to the Blockchain, am I?

Well back to my thoughts. I bet all of you Europeans thought I didn't like flying in the window seat because I don't like nagging other people to let me through when I need to stretch my legs or go to the toilet. But you see, Latinos don't see these kind of situations where you have to speak to strangers as something worth of social anxiety or shyness kicking in or attack on personal space, we actually enjoy interacting with strangers.

I'm not saying it's a good or a bad thing, it's just a cultural difference. When I was younger, much much younger, I was just too shy and incredibly socially awkward to dare even speak to strangers, I couldn't even order a pizza by myself. As I got older I started to learn how to manage these emotions. Now I really enjoy talking to people and I am always - or at least 99% of the time - in control of my emotions. Unless when I'm having a heated argument with blunt headed stubborn cows, but that rarely, extremely rarely, happens, because then I let shit hit the fan heavily, but that's not the point.

Speaking about emotions. Have you heard that Gillette wants men to show emotion? That's pretty cool right? I mean, there shouldn't be anything wrong in that. The problem is these progressive morons now are labeling the act of not showing emotion as toxic masculinity. Yeah, as it turns out, being manly is toxic. According to mainstream media, worldwide libertarian and progressive politicians, the new order is to have more effeminate men everywhere - in other words, Soyboys.

Well it's been almost two years since I joined the platform and I've refrained myself from speaking about politics and social issues but this has gone too far, I had to mention it somewhere and there's no better place to write freely without fear to being censored or deplatformed than the steem Blockchain.

Two words, fuck you Gillette, I'm never buying your brand ever again and I'm going to speak crap about you with everyone willing to have a conversation with me.

Yeah, those were more than two words. I guess I'm stupid now. But you see, I couldn't contain myself (that's part of the 1% of times I can't) and since this is a freewrite I can't really edit what I've written, I have to hit submit without going through the post re-reading, proofreading and spell checking.

I love freewriting. It's one of the best creative excercises I can do with just a pen and paper. Or fingers and keyboard, you get the idea. You let your mind wander, your ideas flow and your creativity dominate the situation.

You should try it. It has also helped me to be less of a perfectionist and learn to live with my errors and to accept them. Even if a typo looks horrible or my grammar is no better than a twelve years old, it came from me, so I better embrace it. Of course I'm not endorsing bad spelling and poor grammar on every post. I'm all about post quality and that means proofreading and spellchecking but for freewrites, those rules are off the table.

Besides, how do you expect to keep track of your writing style and ability to do so if you don't keep your drafts as they are? I have at least 30 freewrite posts and one of my favorite things to do is to re-read some of them, depending on the dates off my life I wrote them. It's the best window or sneak peak to myself from that time, to see what was going through my mind during those days, without edition, without censorship, just me, raw, direct.

These freewrites are mainly for me. They are kind of a message from my old self to my present self. Of course I like when someone reads them and interacts with me, and I love when people actually learn something from them or end up freewriting thanks to the post but, to be blatantly honest, if no one ever read them, I would still be writing them every time I have a chance. Because in the end, these freewrites are from me, to me.

Sort:  

Hi @anomadsoul!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.260 which ranks you at #229 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 6 places in the last three days (old rank 223).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 249 contributions, your post is ranked at #1. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I like to see the landscape through the window
I usually need to use the toilet a long during flights
Life is but endless contradictions :)

It´d be nice if every choice was not- yet another price to pay, right? Always having to pick our battles.

Yeah, I was very shy when I was younger myself. It really wasn't until high school that I came out of my shell. :/

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Freewrite is kind of words straight from heart...and I love it too...but you looks quite annoyed with the situation around...you can pull that fellow passengers to Steem 😉....and I got to know a lot about ..the "super latinos strategic planner pshychologist" 👍 ....have a safe flight👌

fuck you Gillette

Been on my mind the whole fucking day. That ad is beyond pathetic and I love all the hate they're getting for it. Serves them right.
I'm pretty much good with any seat, although it depends if I'm alone or with someone. Last year, I was flying with my friend, she had window seat, I had middle seat and it was quite late and the guy in the aisle seat fell asleep and he was sleeping with his mouth wide open - it was just one of the funniest faces I've ever seen. We were dying with laughter for like 20 minutes. Didn't wake him up tho.

Besides, how do you expect to keep track of your writing style and ability to do so if you don't keep your drafts as they are?

Excellent point. I love looking back on old drafts <3
Safe travels and have fun, wherever you're headed!

I’m more of a lap person on flights.

Wait, are you the lappee or the lapper? Whose lap are we talking here?

Depends on the individual....

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I prefer the aisle as feel it has more space for the legs although space under the seat is the least of the three. Since I take long flights, I like to get up and stand once or twice and prefer to do it without having to ask the snoring guy in the middle to move.

Posted using Partiko iOS

We only have ourselves to blaim for companies trying to choose side and explain to us how we should feel and act.

Im rather in different to the commercial, but its going to be interesting to see the longer term effects if any it has on the company. Im assuming it will have a short term dip followed by a bull run from al the free advertising there getting from everyone talking about it.

Wheres my dollar shave club refferral link when I need it?

The only thing I like about flying is having a window seat so I can get the view!! lol. You can't deny the awesome views from way up there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97