Freewrite: children

in #freewrite6 years ago

You may have seen the young ones slipping through drain pipes and down storm water drains. They are strange, dirty, but relatively harmless. They take what food they need, but for the most part leave us alone. Their parents, long gone, left them in the toilet or in a back alley, and somehow they ended up in the Crongworth Sewage Treatment Facility.

It is at the Crongworth Sewage Treatment Facility that I work, as head chemist. Sometimes we get a child slip through the cracks in our filter. When that happens, it is usually too late for complete rehabilitation. Instead, we give the child a slap-up meal of oats, mixed with probiotic treatment fluid, or whatever we have onhand, and send it off into the world. There is little use trying to bathe a wild sewage child; they are foul smelling things, but they seem to enjoy this smell, derive some kind of perverse pleasure in the olfactory inconvenience they give to others.

Children often need parents, and that is why we assign each sewage child its own robot parent. It is a kind of electric crow that searches for nuts and berries and feeds them to the children. Regurgitated nuts and berries is what sewage children eat, for the first few years.

Then they progress to the hard stuff: stale bread stolen from a 1982 Volkswagon, broken down by the side of the highway.


This is a five minute freewrite based on the prompt children.

600px-John_Bauer_-_The_Princess_and_the_Trolls_-_Google_Art_Project.jpg
Don't they look like sewage children? Joun Bauer - The Princess and the Trolls

Sort:  

I think it's sad that parents would leave their little children in sewage systems. But that's the world we live in. Your job sounds very interesting, especially the part about robot parents? Good one.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

Why thank you kind sir! Still trying to get a hang on your choice of username @rewardpoolrape

Yes, it's very sad. I am very lucky to have my job, but as a head chemist I can only help them so much: I'm a head chemist, not a baby chemist.

I understand. The little that you do, goes a long way.

Ha ha ha!!!! I hope we are talking about bacteria or mold lol, if not then this is a strange world indeed. 😃

I think they might be some kind of strange chimera… half human, half fungus. That's what they look like, at least, but I haven't dissected one yet to find out.

Oh, EeeeeeEEEEEW! 🤢

I don't eat mushrooms myself, so I'm inclined to agree

What a strange world, indeed. Well done.

It feels a little odd to be disgustingly delighted at your story.

Thank you for adding the bots for parents part in 😂😂😂 it helped with my confusion.

Leaving a child without a parent is inhumane, but giving a child a robot parent is inhuman…

Okay, this was fantastic and SO unexpected. You definitely have a way with words and your imagination is amazing. I love this story! I could picture it in my head as I was reading. Great post!

Today I am helping @mariannewest out and leaving the link to today’s #freewrite prompt! https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-91-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-board

I so love your story!! Welcome to this group of twisted mind freewriters - you fit right in!! and that is a compliment! :)

I've found my people!

Yes!!! Bring on the sewer children and all you got!! lol

This was an interesting read. Had me confused on what kind of children you had for a moment. ;)

Welcome to freewrite!

Wow that was quite a story from the freewrite! Sewer children? Well written.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66858.35
ETH 3088.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72