Freewrite: board

in #freewrite6 years ago

"Where are we going?"
I had something in my stomach. I could feel the dew getting up to my trousers, past my shoes. Soggy trousers and wet socks. The blindfold was tight, but I could make out bits and pieces – indistinct blurs that showed where the sun was, and where the bright patches were. We were going west, away from the sun.

It was a long way to walk, but maybe it just felt long. I stubbed my foot on a rock and fell forward a bit, but Enric was there to catch me. He put his arm on my elbow and steadied me. Non-verbal communication: "I know, I know". He understood.

Of course Enric understood; he had been through this before. The Reeducation Board was going through the list alphabetically. Enric Anderssen; he was one of the first.

But now, Enric was a different person. He was probably still Enric inside, but he seemed quieter, more reserved. I wonder whether I will become quieter. Or whether I will stay the same.

The ground changed from dirt to something hard and flat, pavement or concrete. My rope-soled shoes made a soft, wet, smacking sound.


This is a five-minute freewrite based on the prompt board.

IMG_0259.JPG
A suitably unnerving photograph taken near Tour au Diable in Metz, France

Sort:  

Great story. :-) I wish it continued!

It's kind of funny – the last few days you've been writing (amazing) serious ones, while I've been writing silly ones. But today we both swapped!

Hah, you're right! I wonder when we'll switch back again?

great one from you

Great story!!

Today I am the delivery of links puppet. While 3/4th asleep I cannot be witty. ❀ Here is today's prompt!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-91-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-earthquake

I admire and appreciate your dedication!

it is a suitably unnerving photograph and an unnerving story!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47