Not Seen as We Seem | 5 Minute Freewrite, Day 99

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

fantasy_paintings_cg_digital_art_lakes_nature_waterfalls_mountains_flowers_swan_birds_animals_magical_landscapes_moon_moonlight_artistic_art_mood_1920x1200.jpg

The sunset fast approaches
Sweat beads my brow
though it is a balmy summer's eve

Darkness approaching
but what is worse than moonlight?
Moonlit monsters

It is only but a fortnight
We have spent on this planet
But oh, how they threaten

Morning rises quickly
shines and burns
Too close to the flame

Midday search for food
almost always
a failure

When the breeze blows
we are calm, but
with uncertainty

For when night draws
near the Earth cracks
little fractures in dust

What emerges? We must
shut our eyes
for fear that we shall see

That they shall see

We are but visitors
unwelcome and afraid
How they hunt us

"There! Get them!"
Panting, running, climbing
We scurry from their stars

Only daylight protects
from these monsters
of the moon

White glow across their
snarling teeth
We tried to plead

They simply do not see

For in the moonlight
we are not as we seem
The water has shown

In its reflection
we are not as we
have always know

How can this be?

FREEWRITE-banner.jpg
image source
banner by @ameliabartlett, comment for a blank banner for your freewrite posts






Ink+VoltAsset 1-210.png



Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

I'm a writer, minimalist, tiny home dweller, and maker living in East Tennessee, USA. My blog has lived at www.amelia-bartlett.com until I discovered Steemit, where I now post most of my work. To learn more about me, check out my introduction post, get up-to-date on my school bus tiny house conversion, and follow me for articles on slow living, sustainable fashion, self-expression, and quality curated resteems!

Proud member of

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

ameliabartlett_red.png
banner by @bearone

teamgirlpowa.jpg

DQmf7Q3iNuSZaRMS3fM865RiF75fQH8xYqbHfVRpNq5sDDg_1680x8400.png
banner by @bearone

Sort:  

WoW is a great poem. congratulations and thanks for sharing this :)

I'm loving the lycanthrope vibe I'm getting from this poem! Those demons of moonlight within and without. The sense of being turned against their will.
Thank you for your words

You're welcome @themadrunnah - I'm happy to you enjoyed the prose!

Was curios about your poetic alien piece so I followed you here. :)

Wow! That was quite a spin on Sunset! Great job with the poem.

Beautifully put moonlight lyrics! I have the most talented minnow on all of steem it!

💓💓💓 Thank you! Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine publishing a poem on the internet about aliens... but Steemit and these #freewrite challenges do it to me!

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team. If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Hi! Cool, I accept!

Wonderfull <3

This is like sci-fi fantasy poetry :) I like it.

Beautiful words Amelia. I liked it very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65017.48
ETH 3454.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50